Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2007, 06:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300!

My E6300 is at 3.12ghz and I want to reach 3.4ghz. I am using a zalman cnps 9700. The cpu is at 38 degrees centigrade. I am using a gigabyte ds3 motherboard. To overclock my cpu i have not increased any voltages, only increased the fsb. I also want to overclock my ram a little bit. My timings according to cpuz are.

Frequency: 450mhz
FSB DRAM: 1:1
CAS#Latency: 5.0
RAS# to CAS# Delay: 7
RAS# Precharge: 7
Cycle time (Tras): 19
Bank cycle timer (trc): n/a
Command rate:2T

__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300!

I don't know about the voltages for the core2, but i know that you need to increase them to go any farther.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300!

Agreed with zmatt. You're going to have to juice it up a little, to get it to 3.4GHz. And what RAM are you using? Those timings are very loose.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300!

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
If i do tighten my timings what should i put them to.
Basically I want to oc my ram and my cpu a little more. Hoping for maybe 16s on super pi.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300!

You should set it at manufacturer's spec, to start. And that's 5-5-5-15.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300!

Allright the timings are now 5-5-5-15. But I had the lower the Fsb a little. What should i do next.
Core speed: 3.115
multiplier x7
Bus speed 445.0 mhz
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300!

Have you tried going to 3.2? If it's stable at 3.1, go to 3.2....then stress test it. If it's not stable, up the VCore voltage one notch. Then stress it again. If it's still not stable up the VCore another notch....etc. If it's at 3.2, and you stress it, and it's stable, proceed to 3.3...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 09:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Help me reach 3.4ghz or higher with E6300!

just make sure you stay within the safe volts for your chip or you could fry everything.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.