Help me push my Opty to 3GHz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default Help me push my Opty to 3GHz?

My Opteron 148 is at 2915MHz and 3DMark05, 12 hours Prime95, and SuperPi stable at 1.450v. Idle temps are 25-28C and under load, 35C max. My RAM (Mushkin eXtreme Performance DDR500) is running at 208MHz on a 333MHz Memclock divider with the timings 3-4-4-8 I believe. So I still have plenty of voltage room, my RAM isn't holding me back, and my temperatures are awesome. At cpu frequency 273 (3003MHz) I can pass 3DMark05 and SuperPi, but I cannot seem to pass Prime95. I have raised my voltages to everything up to 1.50v, but still, no Prime95 pass. I could go to 1.55v, but would that make any difference since I am stable at 2915MHz with only 1.450v? Basically what I'm asking is if I've reached this CPU's max or if there is anything else to do?
__________________

__________________
DFI Lanarty Ultra-D
Opteron 165 @ 2.5, 1.325v
1x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ 250, 3-4-3-8 (another gig on the way)
Sapphire X1900XT @ 700/800 (she\'ll do better, but I need to replace the stock cooler)
WD 1600JB 160GB
Antec SP 500W
Duplicity is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You can go up to 1.6v. BTW those arn't your real temps (unless you are on water). The optys don't report the temps correctly. No matter what speed and voltage I use, I always have the exact same temps for mine.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

On the Optys you reach a wall on it at one point and then you have to give a **** of alot of voltage to get passed it to OC it more. 2.9 is where i stopped but i prolly could have gone further. GL w/ that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default

003, I have used several different temperature monitoring programs, all with the same result. Why don't the Opty's report the temps correctly? I'll try bumping the voltage to 1.6v.
__________________
DFI Lanarty Ultra-D
Opteron 165 @ 2.5, 1.325v
1x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ 250, 3-4-3-8 (another gig on the way)
Sapphire X1900XT @ 700/800 (she\'ll do better, but I need to replace the stock cooler)
WD 1600JB 160GB
Antec SP 500W
Duplicity is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 10:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I don't know why, but they just dont. I don't think the motherboards we are using are really made for opterons. Before you try 1.6v, try 1.525 and 1.55. I managed to get my 146 to boot at 3GHz with 1.65v, but then the PC froze on the desktop, and it didn't boot at all with 1.68v so I think I've hit my wall. 2.9GHz at 1.6v. Not bad. I still have the 146 from NCIX on the way, I will see how good that does. I will sell the one I don't want, and if it ends up being the one I am using now, it should sell pretty quick due to the fact that it does 2.9GHz on air
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

I'm also thinking that the temp is reading incorrectly. No way you're running 2.9 GHz and only 35° under a load on stock air. At least, I think you said it was stock a while back.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You've pretty much hit the wall...you aren't gonna see too much difference between that 85MHz and the excessive voltage you're pumping through to reach 3GHz really isn't worth it

Opterons don't like a lot of voltage...they go far on stock vcore and a bit further with a bit more (<1.5vcore) and then they pretty well stop climbing very high after that...1.55vcore would probably be best
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default

Well its just being able to say you got 3GHz that's appealing . First though, is there a good overclocking utility that allows you to overclock outside your bios (to let me try 1.6v because my mobo only goes to 1.55v)?
__________________
DFI Lanarty Ultra-D
Opteron 165 @ 2.5, 1.325v
1x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ 250, 3-4-3-8 (another gig on the way)
Sapphire X1900XT @ 700/800 (she\'ll do better, but I need to replace the stock cooler)
WD 1600JB 160GB
Antec SP 500W
Duplicity is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You need to adjust the CPU VID special control, set the voltage to 1.425v, and the special control to 113%. That should give you 1.6. But before you try that, I really suggest you try 1.525 and 1.55v, because it's always best to use the lowest voltage as you can.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 08:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default

Already tried em . Thanks.
__________________

__________________
DFI Lanarty Ultra-D
Opteron 165 @ 2.5, 1.325v
1x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ 250, 3-4-3-8 (another gig on the way)
Sapphire X1900XT @ 700/800 (she\'ll do better, but I need to replace the stock cooler)
WD 1600JB 160GB
Antec SP 500W
Duplicity is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.