Help me push my OC higher - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2010, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default Help me push my OC higher

OK a quick rundown on the current system
AMD phenom 965(stock 3.4ghz 8mb cache)
TRUE120 cooler with a push pull setup(lapped)
8gb corsair ddr3(I know 4gb is supposed to be better for OC, I do however do quite a bit of video rendering and was unable to push the OC higher running 4gb)
ATI radeon 4890 1GB
Asus M4a79t Deluxe MB

Through playing with the bus speeds and multiplier the highest clock I have found to be stable is 3.8ghz with a 19 multiplier 200 bus speed and 1.5v. However it seems temps are a pretty big issue in the equation as at full load when running stress tests the CPU is hitting 54-55, but hovers around 45-46 for everyday use. Currently I have a Thermaltake Soprano Case w/ Window - RS101. Here is the CPUid, please if you see any suggestions to help push the OC further let me know.



Now the intial plan is to go with an HAF X case and set up water cooling, for both the CPU and the GPU(with the capability to eventually handle 2 gpu's). I am wanting to keep the budget for both under $400-500. I am just really starting to research water cooling to any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Bwidner is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

i was obbsessed with overclocking my 965 to a minnimum of 4ghz, i went from the stock cooler, to the H50 and now i have a full custom water loop, right no my idle temp is 27C and full load is 34C and i cannot get any higher overclock than 3.8ghz stable. these cpus DO NOT like going any higher than 3.8, there is a wall after that. i have mine set at the same exact settings to get at 3.8ghz... its just not worth spending the money to get any higher, mostly because the odds of you getting any higher after spending all this money on cooling this chip are low...

most of the time temperatures are what keep you from getting a higher over clock, but as you can see with my temps i am far from the danger zone and cannot get a higher overclock. my advice to you is to be happy with what you have and go with intel next time you upgrade your computer.
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

All the chip batches are going to be different, motherboards also play a role in the OC, I can run my system at 4ghz until it hits full load that is the only time it blue screens out and the temp is getting up there at that point. Unless you have the same batch chip and the same motherboard you cannot say well mine won't so neither will yours. Not to mention I have not dug in there too much with the memory and trying to push it further because at this point it is a temperature issue(or at least it is part of them). IS your mobo an xtd? I looked for specs on the txd and found nothing
Bwidner is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

whoa, dont gotta get all offensive, im just saying that hearing that someone got their 965 stable over 3.8 is rare... but it sounds like you know what you are doing, so do what you want.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
whoa, dont gotta get all offensive, im just saying that hearing that someone got their 965 stable over 3.8 is rare... but it sounds like you know what you are doing, so do what you want.
I apologize if it came off as offensive, in no way was it meant to be, and where as I know its pretty tough to do, when running tests at 4ghz the temp gets up to around 54-56 and then bluescreens so I am convinced that the temp is playing a role in the inability to get it over 3.8 and stable. Mainly looking for those with more experience with this CPU as well as with experience with water loops to see if maybe I am missing something in getting it a bit higher as is, as well as getting the loop setup here in the next 1-2 months.
Bwidner is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

He has alot of expirence with both
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

i have a 965 and a water loop... but i dont know what im talking about so... good luck my friend. ill be here to say " i told you so ".
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-07-2010, 01:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

the phenom 2 cpus have been shown to be really unstable at 4gz. try loosening up your ram timings and play around with the frequency's of the ram your ram maybe holding you back. but as most have said 4 ghz is not very stable. i can run my 955 at 4 ghz but only for benchmarking and ive hit 66 c and still not blue screened. my max OC is 4.2 ghz on air with a high temp of 68 c but its blue screens whenever you put a load on it for about 5 mins, also i needed to give my cpu 1.56-1.58 volts to keep it stable at 4 ghz so i settled for 3.8ghz at 1.39 volts. cause i don't wanna run that high constantly to much wear and tear. id run that if i had a full water cooled system but that's not in my budget at the moment. but even then its pointless there's not that much gain from going that high.

honestly the phenom@ X6 would give you a much better performance increase than a oc from 3.4 to 4 ghz on a 965
__________________
Amd Phenom 2 955 3.9 ghz
Corsair Dominator 1700 mhz
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI formula
amd SAPPHIRE 6870
HAF 932 Full Tower
Corsair TX950W PSU
Windows 7 X64
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=70112&dateline=128146 3255[/SIGPIC]
Desolation is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 07:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
i have a 965 and a water loop... but i dont know what im talking about so... good luck my friend. ill be here to say " i told you so ".
Yes you have both, yes you also stated on another thread that you didn't want to risk corrupting windows again on another thread after going to water cooling. When slay mentioned loosening up your ram timings, so you have experience yes, but you also stated on another thread you put int he loop and left it as was, unless I missed another thread somewhere. In terms of going to x6 if I buy a new processor I will just go with an i9, I built this machine on a budget when my last mobo went out so that's the reason I went with the AMD at the time. I will just let this die and not return here at all, thanks for the help.
Bwidner is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 10:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: Help me push my OC higher

wow chill man, he was saying that the AMD 965 isnt stable over 4ghz, its not just him saying that that is a very common thing people say
__________________

heister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What fan be best for push pull? Njord New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-26-2010 09:17 PM
Trying to push my OC further, plz help!!! Wizdumb Overclocking and Modding 0 08-04-2010 02:43 AM
Should I push the CPU farther? XDRoX Overclocking and Modding 42 11-03-2008 02:51 PM
Push Buttons JoeDupree Off Topic Discussion 4 09-23-2004 11:43 AM
Can I have a push? Shakie Off Topic Discussion 3 03-13-2003 02:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.