help me out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2005, 01:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default help me out

i just put together my new computer, but when i hook the VGA adapter to my video card (6800ultra) then i plug my monitor into it my monitor goes on like stand by or something and nothing happens??

someone please help me out
__________________

beautiphil is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 01:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Did you make sure that the card is nice n' snug in the AGP or PCI-E slot, also did you hook up the AUX power connector on the video card?
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default

make sure that you have the extra 4 power connector thing hooked up.... cause if its a newer mobo you need it.... i made that mistake earlier with this computer and i thought it was dead but it turns out i needed to connect the power supply=P oops!=P
RichM499 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 09:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 130
Default

ya i have everything connected still nothing
beautiphil is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Did you wear an ESD strap or take the proper measures against static????? Also take the 6800 out and put your old AGP in to see if that works. If it works then you can eliminate the theory that your mobo is fried.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

Im not sure for the ultra but the 6800 GT requires power connection without anything else plugged into the same connection. I ran into a similar problem and it turned out that the agp slot had somehow gotten fried
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.