Help me OC further =) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 06:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Talking Help me OC further =)

Hey all, I want to get more out of my system

I got my CPU just before the Opteron craze so I didn't know about it or I would have gotten one. I have the system that is in my sig, an Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego.

Currently I am runnin 250HTT x 11 with a 5:6 divider
I know having 2 gigs of ram drops OC's but with a 5:6 divider I thought I should be fine.

I am at 2.75ghz with my 250x11 but I want to get around 2.9 if possible. I really would want 3 but since that is **** near impossible with the san diego I just want to get as close to 2.9 as I can.

Here is my issue: I don't have a clue about ram timings. So basically I have copied other people's timings, read about timings, but don't really know what to use. I was hoping I could just set a 5:6 divider, up the voltage to it and it would be fine. I know there are good stickies and all and I have read them but knowing what things stand for hasn't really translated into me having a good idea of what to try.

Also it seems like I am using heck of high voltages but my comp can't really get higher than 250 htt x 11. Heat isn't really a bad issue with my nice new Thermaltake Big Typhoon and better cord management after having put it in.

I am at work so I am kind of hoping I remember these values correctly
Settings:
Htt: 250
Multi: 11
Mem divider: 5/6
Ram timings: 2, 3, 3, 6 (i think, not sure)
dram: 2.8v
chipset: 1.7v
cpu vid control: 1.55v
cpu vid special control: 110%

I think my DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D Mobo has a bios of 6-23

If there is anything else that I am forgetting that makes a big difference let me know.

Any suggestions? With my already fairly high voltages I never get over 45 degrees C with my cooling so I am fine there I think. I am not sure if it would help to try lowering my multi and raising HTT higher or not. I don't really want to loosen my mem timings since I am already at a 5/6 divider but give me all your suggestions and i'll try different things. Thanx for the help. Any thoughts on how high I should or should not go with ram voltages with my particular ram? I can post my CPU stepping when I get home if it would make a difference.

Get me to 2.9!!! Yes I know it is luck of the draw how high you can get with each cpu but still I think I can go higher I just don't have a lot of experience so I don't know what to tweak to squeeze out the best performance available to me.

P.S. if someone tells me to go read the stickies some more i am going to track them down, kick their dog, slap their mother, steal there computer and sell it on ebay to finance buying a dual core fx-60
__________________

__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

you might be at your cpu's limit.

you want to OC your components one at a time initally. first, i would set the ram divider lower so you're only OCing your CPU. that way, if there's any instability, you'll know it's not the RAM that's at fault. once you find your max cpu oc, then you can start OCing the ram.

ok, 1.55v is kinda high, plus the 110% is putting your vcore at like 1.7 and that's really high....perhaps too high.

like i said, set your RAM slower and see if you can raise the FSB any more. try different dividers like 10x to see if that makes a difference.

all-in-all i'd be pretty nervous with the more than 1.55v on that thing. 2.75ghz is best i could get out of my sandy with 1.55v at 11x & 250HTT.

honestly, you wouldn't notice a difference between 2.75 and 2.9
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

I know various people at 2.9 with sandys though

I guess you are right I need to go 1/2 divider and do more testing to see what i can get my cpu up to.

I am going to be bummed if I can't get 2.8

Any idea how long it takes for the supposed "burn-in" for a cpu that just got a new heatsink/fan with some AS5? I have left my comp on 24/7 for a day and a half now OCed to 2.75
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

have you run prime95 or some other cpu-stressing program for a while? if so, burn in has probably already occured.... personally i would have done the burn in before OCing but that probably doesnt make any difference.

yea i know someone with a sandy at 3.0ghz.... but like you said, its luck of the draw most of the time. 2gb of RAM probably is hampering your OC a little. you could always run 1gb of RAM and see what your OC is just for $hits and giggles.

just be careful man, that's a good processor. quite frankly, that thing at 2.75ghz is one of the fastest processors out there anyways.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

I don't want to drop a gig of my ram i love the smooth play of BF2 with 2 gigs too much

I assumed that a partial OC would simply increase the speed of burn-in with my new heatsink and AS5. I guess that is just wrong?
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Maybe you'd be able to get a higher HTT with a lower multiplier? It might not help your overall speed, but the higher the HTT, the better (I think).
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

Some people have gotten 2.9ghz by having a 10 multi and much higher htt but i guess i just don't understand why that would work when a lower htt and higher multi doesn't. anyone with experience care to enlighten me?
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

OCing theoretically would increase the burn-in rate because burn-in is halfway heat-dependent. but cpu load/stress has alot to do with burn-in too.

as far as lowering the multiplier to get higher HTT, just be sure you aren't letting your hypertransport go above 1000mhz. set the LDT multi. to 3x.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 482
Default

I forgot there were some posts about having too large a difference in certain voltages frying your stuff. Anyone know what that was? I think it might have been too large of a difference betwen chipset and cpu or something. I'm not sure.

Ya I will calculate out what i am at before trying stuff so i won't go over 1000
__________________
Flying-Squirrel is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 07:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

The reason why they lower the mutli and reach for the higher HTT is because so the ram can run at a higher speed

looks like you wont be able to really get 3Ghz high hopes bad idea :O, i wouldnt go over 1.6V if i were you also
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.