Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2007, 10:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

try coretemp instead

Overclocking and Hardware Utilities

also remember your CPU is not under stress in your bios. AND....... press ALT+Prt Sc and it will only screen shot the window thats open :P
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

I used a piece of paper, which is how I discovered my side fan blowing out. I confirmed the front is blowing in and the rear is blowing out using the paper. I didn't think about configuring Speefan to my mobo. I just thought it was progammed to check.

I will also try coretemp to see how it compares. ALT+Print Screen: Thanks for the tip. That makes it much easier for sizing it to fit in a forum post. Question: Does that work when in the BIOS, because I couldn't get print screen to capture? Thanks everyone for the responses.
__________________

__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
I used a piece of paper, which is how I discovered my side fan blowing out. I confirmed the front is blowing in and the rear is blowing out using the paper. I didn't think about configuring Speefan to my mobo. I just thought it was progammed to check.

I will also try coretemp to see how it compares. ALT+Print Screen: Thanks for the tip. That makes it much easier for sizing it to fit in a forum post. Question: Does that work when in the BIOS, because I couldn't get print screen to capture? Thanks everyone for the responses.
You have to use a camera to take pictures of the BIOS.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:37 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

yea, print screen seems to be a windows thing. won't work outside of windows.... kinda annoying. Sora told me that he never heard CoreTemp being used outside of a C2D, so it might not work as well on the Athlon. I tried it on mine and it was close, but always about 4-5c above speedfan's readings.

Did the configuration help? you can download them from speedfans' website. (just go to the configure tab and then push the get configure link)
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

I'm sitting at work right now, so I can't configure and test. I work 12hrs on Sat and Sun, sux. It's my first priority when I get home. It would be nice to monitor temp while orthos or prime95 is running.
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 11:52 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
I'm sitting at work right now, so I can't configure and test. I work 12hrs on Sat and Sun, sux. It's my first priority when I get home. It would be nice to monitor temp while orthos or prime95 is running.


Yea, I used to work 4 hrs on sunday... wasn't any fun... but I needed the money..

Anyway, speedfan keeps a log/graph of the temps. I leave it running in my sys-tool and I can track my temps after running games and such to see how they are running my temps up.

the Orthos I have runs on screen and I can have speedfan up right next to it, so I can track temps? don't know why you wouldn't be able to.
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 12:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjheero_yuy99 View Post
...the Orthos I have runs on screen and I can have speedfan up right next to it, so I can track temps? don't know why you wouldn't be able to.
Once I get Speedfan configured to my mobo and it hopefully reports accurate temps, I will be able to run it side by side. It's just that right now, the only place I can get accurate readings is in BIOS.
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-21-2007, 10:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

It was a long day. I checked but unfortunately Speedfan does not have XFX motherboard configurations for download. So, I downloaded Coretemp and it says my cpu is running at 10*c ?!?
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 12:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hookster264 View Post
It was a long day. I checked but unfortunately Speedfan does not have XFX motherboard configurations for download. So, I downloaded Coretemp and it says my cpu is running at 10*c ?!?
]

Well, that doesn't seem to work... try everest and maybe CPU-z, I don't know of CPU-Z does temps, haven't used it yet. But I guess the only other thing would be to get a header that sits in your 5.25 or 3.5 drive slots that reads the temps from the MB.

Looking back at the initial picture, that temp 1 sure seems like that is more likely the CPU temp. In speedfans FAQ, it says how to manually configure the program to use the right sensor. Basically the titles you can change at will, so most likely it just says CPU when it really isn't. Idle for a while, get a good feel for what each one is at, then run Orthos or something else that will let you run the CPU up to 100% for a while, see which temp rises the fastest, this is most likely your CPU temps.

Thats a basic summary of what it says in the FAQ.
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 07:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

my conclusion is, your mobo's sensor is just a bith and most programes arent compatible with it.id say check your BIOS for a temp and if its seems pretty normal for idle then leave it, i doubt its to hot if you dont overclock and have 2 case fans should be ok.


BTW if my response is a bit ****, its really late here and .. well im lazy n tired.

ALSO how much thermal paste did you apply?
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need urgent help...temps keep rising krazyq Overclocking and Modding 19 07-15-2007 08:05 PM
8800GTS temps??? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 01:30 AM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.