Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2007, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

I just finished my build and wanted to check temperatures. Below is a screen shot of the results from Speedfan. Can you tell me what each temp is reading and what are the critical temperatures to look for? Is my cpu really running at 53c? Thanks!

edit: Oh, I'm running an AMD X2 3600 Brisbane core with an AC Freezer pro 64 heatsink.

__________________

Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Download Everest home from Major Geeks.
Those temps don't look right.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Ok, I downloaded Everest home, but how do I find out the temperatures?
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Ok, now I'm worried. Is my cpu really running at 52c?

Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Thats look hot for a processor. Did you apply thermal paste? Fan setup?
What PSU do you have? You didn't skimp did you? The +12V is a 9.12V, too low; -12V at -2.65V, definitely way too low; -5V at 2.14V, too low.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 06:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

My case has a 120mm fan in front and rear with an 80mm fan on the side. I have this Xclio 500w psu, which has this output. +3.3V@30A;+5V@30A;+12V1@18A;+12V2@18A;-12V@0.5A; +5VSB@3.0A
Newegg.com - XCLIO STABLEPOWER 500W ATX 500W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
Also, I thought the AC 64pro came with thermal paste already on it. It had a thin film on it with a plastic protection that I took off just before putting it on. Is there a way the paste may have smeared off? Should I get more to put on?
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

The stock thermal should be sufficient if you don't overclock. Can you post system specs?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 03:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

OK, first I found that my side fan was blowing out. I turned that around, but both Speedfan and Everest were showing 52*c on my cpu. I checked my BIOS and it showed my cpu at 31*c. Can both these programs be that far off, yet measure very similar temps? Can I breathe easier and trust my BIOS to show the correct temp?

My specs are in my signature.
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 08:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

I'm sure you've done it, but did you configure the speedfan to your motherboard? When I just dropped speedfan on without configuration it looked like that, very high temps. I just used the configure feature and grabbed the configuration file from speedfan's website, and my temps dropped alot and more matched my bios. Only thing I wish i had was a outside temperature reader that read directly from bios...

I initially clocked at 48-52 idle, then I put some silver on the cooler, cleaned out dust and now clock at 48-42 idle. So different thermal paste can help if you have some. but this is on a Athlon 64 3400+, well I guess thats listed in my sig anyway...

EDIT -- Since your CPU fan reading is zero, i doubt it is configured, also because it reads zero, i kinda doubt the readings. If I open up all the temp gauges on my speedfan, I have one that reads Temp1 that is almost always reading 80c and another one that is Temp2 that almost always reads 127c. I have no clue where these are from, probably sensors that are not on the board, but it did help with the config. try that first.

Edit2 -- I just did a check with different configurations, and my cpu temp showed 80c, went back to the one I was using and its at the 45c that is about where it should be for my machine.
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 07-20-2007, 08:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Help me identify the temps in Speedfan-Pic included

Is your fan's taking air from the front and pushing them out from the back? Well one way to check it is to get a tissue paper and put in near the 120mm fan and see if it sucks the tissue paper. And to check the back, just hold the tissue paper and see if it's blowing outwards. 52C is pretty warm for your processor.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need urgent help...temps keep rising krazyq Overclocking and Modding 19 07-15-2007 08:05 PM
8800GTS temps??? mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 07-12-2007 01:30 AM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
E6600 Idle temps STATus h2O Overclocking and Modding 3 04-02-2007 09:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.