Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2009, 10:50 AM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by braz View Post
im using crucial ballistix ram. 2gb right now, another 2gb on the way. VID should be in the CPUz pic?
CPUz only shows your voltage. Use CoreTemp to get your VID.

EDIT: And 1.5V is a little high, Intel says 1.45V is max.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 11:05 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Once you get your cooling issues worked out do the following to get your desired clock...

As CrazeD said, the formula is FSB * Mulitplier. But the actual FSB in the BIOS is also 4x higher. So for instance...take your desired speed (4000 Mhz) and divide that by your multiplier (in my case 9). That will give you 444 Mhz. Then multiply that by 4 to get the setting you enter into the BIOS (1777 Mhz, actual FSB). So: DESIRED OC / MULTI * 4

This is acutally a backwards way of getting there though because it doesn't take into account the voltage. Do as CrazeD suggested by upping the speed incrementally until you loose stability, then up VID and keep going until you reach the desired FSB (1777)
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 11:23 AM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by synergy View Post
Once you get your cooling issues worked out do the following to get your desired clock...

As CrazeD said, the formula is FSB * Mulitplier. But the actual FSB in the BIOS is also 4x higher. So for instance...take your desired speed (4000 Mhz) and divide that by your multiplier (in my case 9). That will give you 444 Mhz. Then multiply that by 4 to get the setting you enter into the BIOS (1777 Mhz, actual FSB). So: DESIRED OC / MULTI * 4
Oh, right. I'm an AMD guy... my bad.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 12:36 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Belzybub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Man I would say start from square one on you WC. Really take your time and plot out the paths that the water will be taking. Remember you want to keep the bulk of your water away from any heat with plenty of air circulation. Pump to CPU... CPU to RAD... RAD to Res....Res to Chiller or another RAD.... Back to pump again. You can get alot more complex than that as well. Also try to keep the pump lower than the bulk of your water to make it easier to move the water. And AIR AIR AIR lots and lots of AIR... Water cooling can be lots of fun to toy around with, make sure you leak check and double check and do a test run with computer off first. I will be using Oil in my next project and I have gotten some great ideas from Aspire and a few others.

Oh and what number are you starting with again?
Belzybub is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 12:39 PM   #25 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belzybub View Post
Man I would say start from square one on you WC. Really take your time and plot out the paths that the water will be taking. Remember you want to keep the bulk of your water away from any heat with plenty of air circulation. Pump to CPU... CPU to RAD... RAD to Res....Res to Chiller or another RAD.... Back to pump again.
Loop order really makes no appreciable difference in overall performance as the temperature in the loop hits equilibrium after about an hour and temps vary by as little as 1-2 degree throughout.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 01:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
Oh, right. I'm an AMD guy... my bad.
Intel chips overclock with multipliers and bus increasements. AMD does the same thing, except they don't handle bus increases as great as Intel chips which handle absurd increasements to the FSB.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 01:33 PM   #27 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Intel chips overclock with multipliers and bus increasements. AMD does the same thing, except they don't handle bus increases as great as Intel chips which handle absurd increasements to the FSB.
All non "Extreme Edition" chips from Intel have a capped Multi so you really can't overclock with that.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 01:33 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Belzybub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 74
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Loop order really makes no appreciable difference in overall performance as the temperature in the loop hits equilibrium after about an hour and temps vary by as little as 1-2 degree throughout.
True, true, but for the over all temp and workload on pump its good. You just want all the fluid to be able to shed as much heat as possible before returning to the CPU or what ever it is that you are cooling.

Dude if you want to get to 4G you really need to consider that you may need to chill your water somehow.
Belzybub is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 01:42 PM   #29 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Dude Zmatt got 4.00ghz with his E7200? with a sunbeam Core Contact.

All the E8400 needs for a 4.00ghz overclock is to lower the memory speed and increase the FSB to 450~
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 01:43 PM   #30 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belzybub View Post
True, true, but for the over all temp and workload on pump its good. You just want all the fluid to be able to shed as much heat as possible before returning to the CPU or what ever it is that you are cooling.

Dude if you want to get to 4G you really need to consider that you may need to chill your water somehow.
It's a 3ghz chip, 4 ghz is an easy overclock for it.

I was running a 1200mhz overclock on my e6600 for about a year...

How does the workload change on the pump according to loop order? As long as the res or t-line feeds the pump inlet IT MAKES NO DIFFERENCE ON ORDER.

I'll say it again, LOOP ORDER DOES NOT MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

Basically put the loop into your case however it fits with the best tubing routing.

Whether the water goes through the radiator right before or right after the cpu it still winds up dissipating the same amount of heat.

__________________________________________________ ________

Quote:
Originally Posted by www.extremeoverclocking.com View Post
People may recommend that you set up the loop in all kinds of different orders, but they are generally incorrect.
Order doesn’t matter!: http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=177218
Because the water temperature is fairly even throughout the loop, order isn’t important. The rule of thumb is to set things up to minimize the number of sharp bends and the total length of tubing. Avoid 90-degree elbows whenever possible! They kill flow and make the pump work harder.
loop order - [H]ard|Forum

In what order should water cooling components be installed? - The Tech Repository Forums

"While the pump can introduce heat by effectively being submerged, the flow rate of the water is such that it makes little difference. Remember, while most pumps aren't submerged, the coolant still passes through it. The water is in the pumps vicinity for such a tiny amount of time, it results in making no difference in reality.

In short, if you have differing temps at different parts of the loop, your flow rate is not high enough. "
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e8400 @ 5.0ghz andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 28 11-09-2008 11:19 AM
worth getting a e8500 or just e8400 stalin90 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-12-2008 07:21 AM
p35-DS3R and e8400? Peter.Cort New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-15-2008 12:42 AM
e8400 vs e4300 andrewsvalesen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-28-2008 01:56 AM
new pc is up! temp problems e8400 braz New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-22-2008 02:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.