help me get to 4ghz! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2010, 06:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

Disable Quiet and Cool. This is a power saving option. Power Saving and Performance just don't match up.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 06:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

i tried that and it didnt effect anything...
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 06:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

Have you left everything on auto?

If so, youre probably pushing everything beyond its limit. Are you keeping your ram at stock speed?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 06:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

i dont know what to change or what to change it to.... so yea, everything is on stock settings, i dont know what im doing so im asking you guys for help.

to change the RAM speed do i change the

" TCL, TRCD and the TRP "? and if so what should i change them to?
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 06:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

Then leave it disabled.

what memory ratio are you using? What options are you given? Is the CPU Vcore the only voltage you've adjusted? Write down all the voltage adjustments you have available and then find out what the Default voltages are for each of them. And then we need to know what options your given for each voltage.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 06:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

hmm... that hurt my brain a little haha...

i dont know what memory Ratio im using, where can i find out?

and yes, the vcore voltage is the only voltage ive adjusted.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 07:02 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
i dont know what to change or what to change it to.... so yea, everything is on stock settings, i dont know what im doing so im asking you guys for help.

to change the RAM speed do i change the

" TCL, TRCD and the TRP "? and if so what should i change them to?
TCL,TRCD,TRP an such are the latency settings not the actual memory speeds. You don't know what your doing so you want us to do it for you. But we don't know what your options are or the default values? You have to tell us all of this info. Any less is unaceptable. If you want us to work then you have to work to. The easy way would be for you to use the internet to find out what each of your settings means and what it effects. Then you could do this yourself.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 07:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

i dont even know what im doing enough to give you the information you need to help me, maybe i should read more and wait ill im more knowledgeable to try this.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 07:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
i dont even know what im doing enough to give you the information you need to help me, maybe i should read more and wait ill im more knowledgeable to try this.
Wow.....You say you super chip isn't powerful enough, yet you have done nothing to even learn how to unleash it.

This is where you should start.
Google <- link to a 965 ocing search

I'd put your system back to stock till you learn whats going on, as you are running a serious risk burning out your mother board.

This isn't a put you down post, this is a you need to know what you are doing before you do, suggestion post.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-27-2010, 07:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: help me get to 4ghz!

mer...

ill start reading
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4GHz Quad Core i5-570 Screenshots Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 08-08-2009 04:36 AM
Upcoming 32nm Intel Clarkdale CPU Hitting 4GHz Osiris New Technology and Products 37 08-05-2009 04:22 AM
q6600 4ghz, cm690, evga gtx260, 750i ftw, 680i, GTZ, 260 FC veedubfreak Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 23 05-28-2009 07:28 PM
4GHz cpu or 1THz cpu? take your pick tastegw New Technology and Products 4 05-23-2009 02:49 PM
Help me hit 4ghz :D (E8400) braz Overclocking and Modding 59 01-09-2009 09:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.