Help me build my computer please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2005, 11:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default Help me build my computer please

my budget for my custom computer is $550(yea i'm not that rich)
i want a computer that could play HL2, DOOM3 and other new games, also it could do fast encoding( i prefer Pentium4). my friend he builded a good computer(my opinion) at the price of $550 something like 1.5 year ago, so if i build my computer right now i think my computer will be a little bit better than his at $550 because the price for though components went down. His specs is Pentium4 2.4, 512 MB RAM, Nvidia FX5200 128MB, 80GB harddrive, Case W/ 420Watt, Monitor(Not LCD) = $550 something. now he moved so i couldn't ask him to help me. o yeah i forgot, i already bought a video card Nvidia FX5500 128MB AGP 8x.
Thank You Very Much, I'm Really Appricate Your Help.

Okay i did some research.
CASE
Raidmax Silver W/ 420Watt
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE
CPU
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE
MOBO
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

(this gonna be really dumb)
about the memory, some memory have different pins, so which pin should i look for my mobo? and what kind of type of hard drive do i need IDE, SATA?
__________________

woomehoo is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Well if you want a computer to play games such as HL and Doom3, you need something good. The FX5200 would have problems playing it. You might be able to play it at very low settings. Your going to need a better video card then that, if you want to REALLY play those games. I dont see you builting a gaming computer with 500$ sorry. If you can pull around 800$, then you can get something going.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default

no u must misunderstand, i have a Fx 5500. i don't want a really good gaming computer i just want to play new games without lag. my friend told me he could play HL2 with his computer( the spec above) without lag and freezing or other error, it play fine.
woomehoo is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

hmm if ur on that budget, ur not gona get much of a gaming CPU from intel..
try n get a 3000+ 64bit aMD or something...
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

so you want intel?
alright.

Intel LGA 775 Pentium 4 = $157
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...116-185&DEPA=1

SOLTEK "SL-865Pro-775" =$104
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...180-062&depa=0

Corsair Value Select (Dual Pack) 184 Pin 512MBx2 = $134.17
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-440&depa=0

Total. $334.17
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VIII
hmm if ur on that budget, ur not gona get much of a gaming CPU from intel..
try n get a 3000+ 64bit aMD or something...
i could get a Pentium4 2.8 W/ mobo for like $200.
woomehoo is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

as i said, ur not gona get much of a gaming cpu from intel
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

it will be cheaper if you get amd, but you want intel, so it does not really matter, amd will just perform alittle better at gaming then intel but there is not that much differnce with the 3000+ and the 3.0ghz.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 12:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by phosho510
it will be cheaper if you get amd, but you want intel, so it does not really matter, amd will just perform alittle better at gaming then intel but there is not that much differnce with the 3000+ and the 3.0ghz.
But does AMD do fairly good at encoding movies? if yes then i'll change it to AMD.
woomehoo is offline  
Old 02-20-2005, 05:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

get at least pc 3200 for memory and try for 1 gig although i have 512 right now and hl2 runs real smooth.

also get sata hard drives. they are much faster and you should get 2 small hard drives in a raid array (data stripping)
actually that might not be good for encoding. im not sure
__________________

PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.