help on first build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Default help on first build

this will be my first build and my budget for everything but monitor is $1200. this will be used for gaming, watchin videos, and downloading music. my bigest problem is picking out a mobo and card that will work the best for me within my budget. i just changed from a 754 socket to a 939 socket for upgradability. also should i go with one 512 or 2x512 for memory? im still undecided.
thanks in advanced.

ASPIRE Turbo Case X-Dreamer Black $65
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-001&depa=1

Antec 430W Power Supply $76
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-908&depa=1

AMD Athlon 64 3200+, Socket 939 64-bit $250
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-502&depa=1

ASUS "A8V Deluxe" VIA K8T800 Pro Mobo $135
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-510&depa=1

Corsair Value Select 512MBx2 DDR $145
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-440&depa=1

Western Digital 120GB ATA Hard Drive $90
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-151&depa=1

Video Card
(need help picking one out)

NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive, Black $65
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...152-032&DEPA=0

SONY Black 16X DVD-ROM Drive $30
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...101-124&depa=1

SONY Black Floppy Disk $10
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-116&depa=1
__________________

jaysal555 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Definetely switch your proccesor and motherboard, the 754 socket proccesors are becoming obsolete to socket 939, and I doubt AMD will continue to manufacture them in the future.

Also, since your board in dual channel, I highly recommend using two sticks as opposed to one, and since 512mb is slowing becoming the cut off point, I would suggest going with two 512 sticks.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 04:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Default

thanks for the info. i thought 512 was becoming faded out and also is there anything in my list that i should change/could get for cheaper?
jaysal555 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Although it may not be cheaper, I'd scratch the IDE drive and go with a serial ATA drive, seeing as how they will probably eventually replace IDE drives altogether.

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...144-151&DEPA=1

Only a tad more expensive actually.

Also, I should probably point out now that you Mainboard and CPU aren't compatible with each other. :P
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Default

thanks for the hard drive info. yea about that mobo and cpu im a new with this building computer stuff. i went to newegg.com and put in asus and and 939 socket in the search and thats what came up.
jaysal555 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Here, this is basically the same motherboard, except this one works with your proccesor. :P

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-510&depa=1

This is also a good motherboard, actually it's the one that I'm buying in a few days...

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-463&depa=1

Also keep in mind that if you are buying an AMD 64, make sure you buy the one with a 90nm core(winchester) as opposed to the 130nm core(newcastle). The winchester will run a lot cooler, which of course means better overclocking.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Default

sorry for all the questions but what is overclocking and how do u do it?

i changed my origional post. check it out.
jaysal555 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Overclocking is increasing the clock speed of the CPU past what is has been built to safely work at. For example, an AMD 64 3500+ has been built to work without any heat issues at 2.2Ghz, however, it can work faster than that, though it's not always considered safe and it can overheat. Overclocking is accomplished through the BIOS.

Actually, someone else summed it up pretty well already.

Quote:
Overclocking is very tricky and you should know what you doing before you start. I will *try* to explain the dangers but you should really seek more information about it before you start tinkering with OC'ing.

First youll need to make sure that you BIOS will suport overclocking. To do think enter you bios ( your start up screen will usually tell you what buttion to push to enter it; its noramlly F6 or del ). Next search around in your BIOS for either a core voltage value or a clock speed value.

Core Voltage is how much power is being used in your processor. You will want to up this by very tink increments, run your computer using proessor intensive software for aroud 15-20 minutes then check your CPU temp. As far as temperature go you do not want to exceed any more that 120F ( IMO ).

Clock speed is how many "revolution" you processor is making. Normally the default vaule is 200Mhz. You will also want to make small increments with this value. When you play with the clock speed you will see you overall processor speed change ( in tools like system and any 3rd pary programs that read CPU speeds ). Once again you will have to worry about CPU temperature and watch them carfully.

The trick is to find an efficent balence between core volatage clock speed and temperature.

There is a possibly that you overclock too far you will get what is called the "black screen of death". When this happens dont freak out its not a big deal. All you have to do is take out your BIOS battery for 2-3 minutes and then replace it and restart. This is called flahsing the bios ( or in laymens terms reseting the bios).

The most important part about overclocking is cooling ( why i saved it for last ). Better cooling means you can overclock futher. If you are going to overclock you NEED to buy after market cooling products ( larger heatsink high revolution fans water cooling set ups etc ). I personally have my system water cooled and overclocked from 2.8 GHz to 3.0 Ghz. Youll notice that this isnt a large step but my CPU temp is extremely low ( the highest ive EVER seen it is around 95F ).

There is alot of danger involed with overclocking so you really need to do the research before you start.
I'd highly suggest against overclocking if you don't know what you are doing since it can damage your proccesor.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 26
Default

thanks again.
bump for and other people to answer
jaysal555 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 06:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 50
Default

Suggested Processor:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...103-483&DEPA=1
And I strongly recommand to go for 2x512 memory stick. Only one 512 is sufficient for movie but not gaming, espically since each new game that come out these day almost all require 2x512 for good speed and performance.
__________________

hbcao2004 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.