Help! Cant Oc Video Card Anymore! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2004, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Unhappy Help! Cant Oc Video Card Anymore!

I have a Geforce Fx 5200 and i was overclocking the core frequency to 300 (original is 250) and then one time out of nowhere if i click on the spacer to oc it goes to 100, and if i leave it alone it stays on 250...... is there a way to oc a vid card out of windows.. like in the bios?
__________________

__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

use something like RIVATUNER
I got my Radeon 9200 from 250/400 to 329/440 with it.
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 01:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Default

what can i safely oc it to? its stock 250/333.. it allows me to oc it to 500/800 what is a safe spot for me
__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 03:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

manufaturers usually leave a 10% margin for safety precaution. If you overclock it much, use a heatsink on your memory and a good fan on your GPU.
from your OC software, start increasing it by small steps, something like 5 or 10 MHz and then run a program like 3Dmark and check display for any corruption (white speck or other things that shouldn't be there). When you start seeing them, revert to the frequency where you didn't see them.
Do this sequentially for your GPU and then your memory. Note that as with everything else, the max OC frequency will vary from card to card and may shorten your card's life, specially if you do not cool it properly.
This technique takes some time but it is one safe way to find a stable OC frequency.
If you do a google search, you'll find several pages which will give you hints and OC results on this card.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Default

w/e im using has an auto detec, and it brought it to 290 414 and that works awesomeley
__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 03:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

u can go way higher.

by the sounds of things u got yourself an XFX kuz the memory is only 333mhz instead of 400mhz. for a 5200 memory should be at 400mhz but some manufactors put in slower mem to save money and u pay less. Also XFX makes the card have a 64bit bus instead of the 128bit, and that kills performace. If it is an XFX return it, its only marginally better than an GeForce 4 mx 440. TRUST ME ive tried it. Get the Radeon 9200 works wonderfully, and overclocks easy with stock cooling to 330/440 i got the memory at 445 stable too.
Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Default

****!!!! NO!!!!!!!!!!!!! ITS A GODDAMN XFX
__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Default

I GOT IT FOR 50 BUCKS THAT WHY I GOT IT IT WAS A GOOD DEAL
__________________

__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.