help with building new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2005, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default help with building new computer

I have a question, I'm building a new computer but I wanted to keep the same hard drive from my old computer, If i put the old hard drive in my new computer, will I have to re-install the operation system because I'll have a new processor/motherboard/etc???

Also, I'm keeping the same cd/dvd rom drives from my old computer as well.

Old Processor/Motherboard:
Intel D845PT Mobo
Intel Pentium4 1.7ghz

New Processor/Motherboard:
AMD 64 3200+

crip1087 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
idiotec's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748

Yes, you should format and reinstall the OS.


BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

You always need to format when you do a major hardware change such as a motherboard or two different graphics card companies. The drivers from the different equipment would give you troubles.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876

when you reformat, make sure you take out your 56k modem (if you have one) out of the motherboard. because if you dont, you will need a new driver for it.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665

Yeah you'll have to reformat, sometimes if you stay within the same chipset, or a variation of a chipset the thing will be able to load and compensate. I did manage to do this once in the intel 440 days. I inadvertantly tryed it when I built this comp. It was a intel 440bx to the nvidia nf4(amd64) chipset, it came up with an error like invalid system configuration, or something like that.

Basicly its a good idea to format/reinstall even it you could boot into windows, because some junk gets left behind by drivers.
Sui is offline  
Old 02-19-2005, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6

alright, thanks alot for the help

crip1087 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.