HELP! Building Gaming PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2004, 10:13 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

you most likely only need a bigger PSU
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

I think he should be fine if the PSU is fully functional. On my system below, I have a 350w PSU. It works fine and that is with a new CPU fan, plus an intake, and two exhaust fans. An he is still having the problem when just running the basic stuff. As Havoc said, try reseating the CPU. If this doesn't work, I would say that your mobo is DOA.
__________________

__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

The 9800 itelf uses 300W of power and depending on what other stuff he has it may be too mcuh of a load.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:38 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

300W?!?!!? Are you sure? LOL, I didnt know that. How much does my crappy 9600 use?
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 11:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

Yes im sure, go look at the ATI Site.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 12:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

That isnt possible, it need a 300watt power supply. It cant use 300watss. They dont use that much only like 50watts, but with everything thrown in that is why we have large power supplies.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 01:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

I looked on ATI's site and found nothing about rated wattage for any vid cards...though I may be wrong, I can't imagine that a vid card would use 300W...can anyone back this up?
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 01:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 415
Send a message via AIM to Icedragon Send a message via Yahoo to Icedragon
Default

****, I could have sworn that it said it used 300W of power but that is only the recommended PSU that you will need.

**** sorry guys for misleading you
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 3.2 ghz 800 FSB
Abit IC7-G 875p
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256 Bit
2x512MB Ultra PC3200 DDR400
Soundblaster Live
Maxtor 40GB 7,200 RPM HDD
Lian-Li PC65 Case
Icedragon is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 01:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

No prob, that is cool,....can't be perfect all the time!
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 03:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Default

THIS IS THE COMPUTER FROM HELL!!!

I remounted the CPU (thanks for the tip), and now I have constant power. But now, when I power up the PC, I have no video.

I know its not the video card, because it does the same thing with onboard video.

the hardware light is constantly on (no blinking, but solid), whether the computer is on or not.

All help is GREATLY appreciated.
__________________

KornNut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.