help on a build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2004, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default help on a build

Ok I trying to update my older computer all I want to do is surf the net and do so word processing nothing fancy, so I bough this:

DDRAM 512M|PC-3200 991093 MUSHKIN

I already have this in the old system and will transfer them to the new system:

Video card (don’t know the brand)
Amd t-bird 1200 processor and heat sink and fan
cd-rw drive
floppy drive
dvd drive

I have install and check everything before turning on the new system. The first time I turn it on, I see that it said it is at safe mode and it said that I have to go into the bios and change the frequency of the processor and or change the frequency of the ram memory. Once I went into the bios and set the memory for (auto) detecting. I save and reboot. Once reboot, the monitor would not come on (dead), the fans are working but no picture. Turn every thing off and unplug the computer and felt the heat sink and it was quite warm so I took the heat sink off the processor and re-paste with new compound and put it back on the processor and restart the computer. It restart and again in safe mode and it wanted me to go to set up the bios. I control/alt/delete just to see if it would start up again and it didn’t. Dead, no picture.

Does anyone have a suggestion?


florida402 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 11:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372

it might be ur monitor if u have another comp in the house try it out on a diff comp


<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 06:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7

If the monitor is not the problem, then what else I can look at? Could it be the video card? Their is a fan on the video card but when the computer was on and the case still open, I look at the video card and the fan wasn't spinning should it spin, or would it only spin when it gets hot. Really frustrating please help.
florida402 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256

the fan should be spinning. I wold definately bet it was the video card, see if you can find an aftermarket vga cooler
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 08:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7

thanks, should i just get a another video card? What would u recomend on a card that is just for surfing the net and photoshop?
florida402 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
str8lazy's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy

Maybe you should try reseating the video card first.But if that doesnt work then I think that you should get something relatively cheap, because you wont be doing and gaming, so like a 32MB gfx card or less should do the trick.



good luck
str8lazy is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 09:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7

thanks I will try that first.
florida402 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 11:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 88

Why did you get 512 megs of PC 3200 RAM if you're not gonna game? The most your would need is PC 2700, and PC 2100 is just fine.
Pac0 is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 03:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang

the fan should be spinning....the vid card is prolly overheating and producing no picture

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 05:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

everytime you remove the CPU you have to go through bios to set it up.Can you boot into your operating system in safe mode and see your desktop?

Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.