help with atitool - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2007, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 131
Send a message via AIM to Durftard Send a message via MSN to Durftard
Default help with atitool

so i started OCing my graphics card last night (8800gts 320mb - stock 513/792)

downloaded both rivatuner and atitool

rivatuner says my max OC is 692/1110. i tried running 3dmark06 at those settings and my computer locked up.

when i click "find max core" or "find max mem" on atitool, it just slowly decreases the clocks towards 0 until my computer crashs

OCing it to 620/1000 (suggested on a rivatuner guide i read through) increased my 3dmark06 score from 9189 to 10887

I want to find a good stable clock. So on to the questions...

How long should I let ATITool search for artifacts at each individ OC?
EDIT: found answer @ ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question.

What temps should I stop at? Currently idling at around 47 at 620/1000, and around 55 while scanning for artifacts.

Should I be paying attention to the "2D" and "3D low power" clocks? or just the "3D perf." ones?
__________________

Durftard is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: help with atitool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durftard View Post
What temps should I stop at? Currently idling at around 47 at 620/1000, and around 55 while scanning for artifacts.

On mine, 65c seems about max, anything higher and it likes to lock up. Also, in Riva, set your 3d fan control to 100%. That will help with cooling.

Should I be paying attention to the "2D" and "3D low power" clocks? or just the "3D perf." ones?

3D performance.

Also, max on that card should be somewhere around 700/1000.
Hope that helps.
__________________

__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 131
Send a message via AIM to Durftard Send a message via MSN to Durftard
Default Re: help with atitool

no errors after 15 minute scan... at 715/1050.. temps are around 63 though..

as for fan speeds ~ that guide i read had me set up fan profiles, below 55 it runs 60%, between 55 and 60 it runs 80%, and over 60 it runs 100%... that sound right?


also.. how does this artifact scanner work? it says no errors but i keep seeing yellow dots appear and disappear, as well as some gigantic yellow blotches, lol
Durftard is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 09:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: help with atitool

I run mine at 100% over 55c. Cooler is better.
Never used ATI Tool. 3DMark works just fine. When testing, if you see anything unusual, (artifacts), then you are to high on something.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATITool Artifact test + 8800 gtx failure Gabb Overclocking and Modding 19 11-29-2007 01:09 PM
ATITool settings saves but... peterhuang913 Overclocking and Modding 12 09-23-2007 09:57 PM
ATITool 0.26/Graphics card Question. CPonder14 Overclocking and Modding 50 09-09-2007 01:26 AM
ATITool Problem MetalOwns Overclocking and Modding 4 08-03-2007 02:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.