Help ASUS MOBO - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2004, 09:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 17
Angry Help ASUS MOBO

Hi guys i finally finished building my first comp after a hard 3 hours of gettin everything to turn on and read. I have an Asus K8V-SE deluxe mobo for my athlon 64 3200. I'm having trouble settin up my audio cable. The one that plugs in the back of the cd drive on the bios it says that my mobo doesnt support digital audio, am i the only one with taht problem? if so ne questions on what to do
__________________

bige14 is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 17
Default

Please can you guys help me out i have no idea what to do.. Thanks
__________________

bige14 is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 03:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I don't think you NEED the audio cable to play audio cds off the cd drive, it can usually just run off the IDE cable. I had the same problem with a Cendyne cd burner on my old comp, and cds played fine when I used the IDE cable only.
LaZbOy404 is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 06:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

yeah...it should be and ide cable only...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 09:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Some motherboards don't support Digital Audio direct from CD-ROM.

I used to reach my CD-ROM Digital Cable from CD player to Sound Card... now it doesn't reach

I copy all my music from CD now anyway.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 53
Default

Your cd's should work fine
through ur ide cable. digital
audio cable is just for playin
audio cd's directly from the cd-rom
to the soundcard. which means it
doesnt have 2 use any audio
programs like winamp or windows
media player.
hope dats rite.....
correct me if im wrong....
__________________

newbie88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.