help with antec 900 mod - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2007, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default help with antec 900 mod

hey, i just drilled 1 1/4 holes to route all the wires to the back but now the front panel cables to reach. i plan to slice them but will this work? i am planning to use an ethernet cable or rj45 cable but im worried about the front USB 2.0. The CAT5e UTP cable is rated at 350mb and the usb cable is rated at 480MBps so if I use a CAT5e UTP cable, will it slow down my USB? and use these to join them. Telecomm connectors, modular plugs, F-Series coaxial, N-Series coaxial, BNC coaxial, Twinax im using Insulation Displacement Connectors (IDC)
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: help with antec 900 mod

This a actually a very simple question. The answer is no, using a different wire will not slow down USB. What determines the speed is the type of data transfer, not the cable.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: help with antec 900 mod

OOOO, so its basically limited by the device and not the cable?
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: help with antec 900 mod

You should get some standard small gauge wire from radio shack, and solder it then heatshrink it. That would be the best method for connecting it.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: help with antec 900 mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazieaznboi View Post
OOOO, so its basically limited by the device and not the cable?
Yea. But the cable should be of the same gauge.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: help with antec 900 mod

i think the cables inside the CAT5e is the same.
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: help with antec 900 mod

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazieaznboi View Post
i think the cables inside the CAT5e is the same.
Yup..
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-22-2007, 03:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: help with antec 900 mod

sorry, let me rephrase. i think the cables inside the CAT5e is the same gauge as the ones inside the USB cable.
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec 900 mod Norcent Overclocking and Modding 14 09-15-2007 11:09 PM
Antec P180SE and 900 decibaL Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 08-11-2007 12:06 PM
Antec Nine Hundred Mid Tower Case - $69.99 from Frys.com Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 36 07-10-2007 12:16 PM
Middle Fan in Antec P180 Case Graham Overclocking and Modding 3 05-23-2007 05:28 PM
Will this fit in an Antec 900? Pls help... Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-16-2007 07:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.