Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2004, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default Help

My psu doenst turn on when i flip the switch no fans turn on or anything. i have narrowed down the problems to either a faulty power supply or some kind of static between the motherboard and my new case. Does anyone know how static works and how i can stop it?
__________________

__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

It's most likely your PSU that's causing this problem. I've posted some good links below where you can buy a new one at.

www.newegg.com
www.tigerdirect.com

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 07:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Do you know anything about the static though, cuz i was reading another users problems and they were very similar and he fixed it with static free wrap or something. It sucks cuz i just bought half life 2 and now i cant play it.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

Like Dan said, it's probably a faulty psu. What brand of psu did you buy? There would be no static between you motherboard and case so I don't understand how someone could fix a static problem like that.

And don't create so many threads..
Richard is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

The psu is 400watts and cam with the case.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Psus are relatively cheap.
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

You could go out and go buy an Antec or an Enermax psu. I know for sure that those ones are good.
Richard is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
dot
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 96
Default

im proably making an idiot of myeslf but you did turn the power supply on in the BACK too correct? have you tried different wall outlets? have you tried a different power cable, if it is the psu, then just return the case along with it, or ask them to send you another one in exchange.
dot is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 08:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Ive tried pretty much everything, ill just have to go out and buy a new psu, i know they sell Antecs at Best Buy.
__________________
\"Veni,vidi,vici\"
Veritas is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
dot
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 96
Default

how new is this case?
__________________

dot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.