Help!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2006, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to relentlessfight
Default Help!!

Alright, Im looking to do an overclock on my PC. I have suffiencet cooling for the task i'm about to attempt.

My system is Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe with AMD Athlon XP 2400+ and 1.5gb ram (3x512). I've read the tutorials about overclocking on here and on numerous other websites but I'm still very confused as to what to do... I dont want to mess anything up when I do this so I'm asking for any help!!

Thanks,
Nick
__________________

relentlessfight is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

You need to give more specs on your ram too. Ram plays a major role in OCing. As for the cpu, you might be able to squeeze another 100-200mhz out of it.

Just go into your BIOS and find the menu that has clocks and frequencies or cpu frequencies or something along that. Under FSB or Front Side Bus there will be a smaller frequency around 133MHz (i think thats what xp 2400 run at) raise that only 2MHz at a time, even 1 to be safe. Keep doing this until your temps start getting too high. But we need the ram specs too. Value ram wont give you much room to OC.

There is also Kangaroo's guide to OverClocking on this forum if you haven't read through it:

Overclocking Guide
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to relentlessfight
Default

its pc-3200 cosair
relentlessfight is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 02:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Can you be more specific about what you're not sure about ? Do you want a step by step procedure ?
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to relentlessfight
Default

I think I know basically what to do....
Increase the FSB a little bit, and increase the voltage. Is there anything else?

I'm just really being cautious...i watched a buddy of mine with the same board OC his processor and what happened was he booted and got the famous black screen and couldn't reset his CMOS and ended up having to buy a whole new board...not cool. I just dont want that to happen to me haha.

But yea man maybe a step by step would be useful!



------------------------EDIT--------------------------------

Ok I tried that and the CPU ext frequency has a choice of 133mhz, 166mhz, or 200mhz. At 166mhz the system did not boot. There is an option for a cpu multiplie setting and the default one was 7.0x/15.0x (not to sure what that means). As far as memory, there was an AUTO option or By SPD option....
relentlessfight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.