Hello Everyone,new need advice. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2004, 05:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

and if you don't mind can you tell us the name of the book for future reference.

if you want to use a book i highly recommend upgrading and repairing pcs 2004.
__________________

xotix is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 06:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Heres a great site I found http://www.pcmech.com/byopc/index.htm
Yes the 3200 is a great cpu but you won't find a big difference betweena 3000 or a 3200, So if you're worried about moolah then go with the Athlon 64 3000+.
__________________

__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 08:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
Default

xotix,the name is complete idiot's guide to upgrading and repairing,pc's. Sorry didn't tell ya sooner kinda embarased to be reading such a book but hey ya gatta start somwhere. Oh and i plan to be on here a lot this my first build very nervous.

musjunk22 nice rig man.

ok just got my mobo in place,in the case. got to wait for cpu and mem now. think i'm gonna spen the money and get the 3200,with the volcano heatsink and fan,is kingston good memory.

Is there a differance between $$$ and quality. I want good memory just don't wanna spen a fourtune on it. gotta spen the money on the video card lol.
[213]BloodLust is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 08:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

ok, thanks. nothing to be embarrased about.

don't be nervous. everything nowadays only fits one way and it has its own socket. so it isn't going to be a difficult task. honestly its harder to find the parts than it is to install them.

kingston is good memory. if you don't want to spend alot on memory go with kingston.
xotix is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 08:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10
Default

i was worried bout the motherboard being in the box think it was a good idea to go ahead and put it in the case?

thanks a lot i think it'll be succesful,just got to take my time wich i'm doing.
[213]BloodLust is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 08:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

I would suggest you head on down to CRUCIAL. You can buy the memory direct from them and they have excellent memory. They also got a lifetime warranty, so if your memory ever goes bad, you send it back and they'll give you a new one...
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.