hello all, need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

winstonchurchil

Beta member
hello, im totally new to pc building, this is my first attempt

this might sound simple but

on my asus motherboard it has three fan sockets, one for cpu, power supply and chassis fan, all the male sockets on the motherboard are the same

but the female connector on the chassis fan is a totally different to the chassis fan socket on the motherboard(the chassis fan connector has four huge pins and the socket on the motherboard has 3 small pins and looks like the socket for all cpu fans)

any help would be appreciated, thankyou

1st you dont need to hook up the chasis fan or the PS fan to the MB . Not all power supplies have the monitoring capabilities same goes with chasis fans .You need a chasis fan with speed control or some have an extra conector that will hook to the chasis fan port single wire which allows your motherboard to monitor the fan speed and use the bigger conector your talking about to power the fan.I would get a 3 pin fan wich will be controled controled and monitored by the MB

Yeah listen to what he said.