Hello - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2004, 12:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default Hello

I would just like to say hello to everyone here, as you can see I am new here and this is my first post. I ran across this site a little while back and it's a good place. I am building my first pc and actually put half of it together today and should get the rest in the morning if fed ex is on time. Maybe a few of you could give me your opinions on what I got. Please keep in mind this was bought on a tight budget. Also I got it all from newegg as they seemed to be the cheapest I found.


Case

Cd for starters

Mobo

Keyboard, Mouse

Floppy

Video Card

memory

Cpu

HD
__________________

..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 12:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

i woulda suggested buy an AMd processor to save money (you coulda got a 3000+ proc for 100 less than what you paid) and then put that extra money toward a better video card. Then again... I recommend Athlons to everyone who is not looking to buy a P4EE ... why? because the price to performance ratio is much better than the intel processors.
__________________

__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 02:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

For a Intel system, its very cost efficient. Let us know if you hit any snags. Have fun with it!
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 06:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

With a motherboard like that you should get 2x 256 mb sticks of memory and utilize the dual channel capabilities of the mobo. Also look at other memory companies, Kingsotn is known for high prices. Get a better video card. I would say just stick with ATI and get that card with 256 mb memory. I suggest that you get more power than that. Try this case with this address. My friend has it and it is quite good, and the cse you chose does not have the best setup of cooling fans. Do you really need a floopy drive? Get a different motherboard, the one you chose has integrated graphics, look for the board without this on it.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-003&depa=1
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 06:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

I would say to stick with intel
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 10:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default

man!!!!!!!!!!!!! i got my stuff today and couldnt wait to put the rest in. i dropped in the cpu and put the hd in hooked it and the floppy up then went for the cpu fan. I got the clips on and then went to lock it down on each side......got one, now the next......snap!!!!! The heat sink blades were caught on the fan brace on the motherboard! Damn it man! now I gotta go get a NEW CPU FAN and wait even longer. Man I need to learn to slow down. This sucks!
..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 05-25-2004, 01:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

ha ha ha, you shouldn't work so fast.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 05-25-2004, 05:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

??? how were the heat sink.....wha???

dude how did you break the cpu fan??
im sure its something you can jery-rig
__________________
Awww Damn it!!! My computer is on fire again
NCISAGENT is offline  
Old 05-25-2004, 06:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Default

Its all good now!!! i got a zalman cpu cooler today and the arctic silver paste. plus i added a 120mm fan in the rear. I think that my power supply is not big enough. The 120 fan has led's as do both of the 80mm and the 120 fan leds seem to fade or blink a little and it kind or goes with the hard drive activity.... humm anyways.
..>Lost<.. is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 04:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

thats not good....
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.