Heatsink vs Liquid Cooling System?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KingBooCakes

Baseband Member
I just recently got an Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz, Biostar TP45 HP Intel P45 Chipset Mainboard w/ Gigabit LAN, 8GB DDR2-800, 1TB SATA II 3.0 Gb/s 7200 RPM, Blu-Ray ROM, DVDRW, ATI Radeon HD4850, Apevia-X-SniperG-AL 20x8x17 (LxWxH) Case w/ 1000W computer. It's my first gaming computer, and I'm a noob at this whole "Customizing Your Gaming PC" thing. Everyone keeps telling me I should change the stock Intel CPU fan. But I dont know which is better for my computer, a Heatsink Fan or a Liquid Cooling System.

The Heatsink I'm interested in is the ThermalTake DUorb
and
The Liquid Cooling System I'm interested in is the ThermalTake Big Water 760i​

Also I wanted to know the benefits of overclocking? My friends tell me about it but I have no idea what good it will do. Once again I apologize, I'm a noob at this =[

i dont think the duorb is for the processor, seems to be a vga cooler
but ofcourse liquid would be more effecient in cooling and overclocking. and they are not as noisy, well most.

id get a corecontact cooler, most of the big and popular brands will have nice ones

and overclocking is by far simpler than you think
i was a noob and now im ocing too. just do some research

your system looks real nice btw

Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
Newegg.com - Sunbeam CR-CCTF 120mm "Core Contact Freezer" CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks
Newegg.com - XIGMATEK HDT-S1284EE 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

and air cooling is fine if you just want a mild overclock. water cooling is more serious though both have their advantages

The duo orb comes in a vga and cpu version.

Liquid cooling is more efficient but its also a lot harder to setup and shouldint be attempted by a newbie.