Heatsink for AMD Athlon 64 X2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2006, 11:58 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

I use a Zalman CNPS9500 to cool my processor. Works REALLY well, but the stock heatsink that AMD provides is also rather good.
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 02:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default

The Athlon 64 X2 is the first dual-core desktop CPU manufactured by AMD. It is fundamentally a processor consisting of two Athlon 64 cores joined together on one die with some supplementary control logic.
The cores share one dual-channel memory controller, are based on the E-stepping model of Athlon 64 and, depending on the model, have either 512 or 1024 KiB of L2-Cache per core. The X2 is capable of decoding SSE3 instructions (except those few specific to Intel's architecture), so it can run and benefit from software optimizations that were previously only supported by Intel chips. This enhancement is not unique to the X2, and is also available in the recently released Venice and San Diego single core Athlon 64's. AMD officially started shipping the Athlon 64 X2 at Computex, on 1st June 2005.
__________________

Eranda is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 02:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default

CPU Cores

Toledo (90 nm SOI)
Dual-core CPU

CPU-Stepping: E6
L1-Cache: 64 + 64 KiB (Data + Instructions), per core
L2-Cache: 1024 KiB fullspeed, per core
MMX, Extended 3DNow!, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, AMD64, Cool'n'Quiet, NX Bit
Socket 939, HyperTransport (1000 MHz, HT1000)
VCore: 1.35 V - 1.4 V
Power Consumption (TDP): 110 Watt max (4400+: 89 or 110 Watt depending on version)
First Release: 21 April 2005
Clockrate:: 2000 - 2400 MHz
4400+: 2200 MHz (ADA4400DAA5CD)
4800+: 2400 MHz (ADA4800DAA5CD)
Eranda is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 04:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

THats all fine and dandy but pecs of the processors have nothing to do with this thread.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 04:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 128
Default

Not sure what was the two posts about the processor specs, but thanks anyway.
suppafreak is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 04:42 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

yah, that was pretty random...anyway, you should find the stocks to work just fine
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.