heatsink - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2005, 03:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Aww, too bad you don't wanna put too much work into your HSF solution, cause I highly suggest the Gigabyte 3D Rocket Cooler. It's sweet, has 4 blue led's built into the fan's grill. So it's all fancy.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835128005

Such a sweet HSF, and a good price to go with it. My next cpu, I'm definately getting this one, or a newer revision of it.
__________________

__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

i just want something that is compatible with the amd cpu i have and fits on the dfi bracket or comes with its own. i also would like something sort of quiet. so i'm leaning towards the zalman right now, but from what i hear it's gigantic. any other suggestions.. i want to order another heatsink in the next hour :O
__________________

s17ence is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

if that gigabyte one is easy to install and will work with what i have, maybe i will buy that one. it doesn't look like it will stick out as much as the zalman would.
s17ence is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

The gigabyte one is cool, but the Zalman 7700CU is the best one you can get. You already have the board, right? Read on the newegg Zalman 7700 page about it, and it will tell you how much clearance you will need to install it. Or you can get the ASUS Star Ice, it is a nasty heatsink!
Him is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

yes i have everything else, i just need to return current HSF and buy a new one. on the newegg page, people just keep saying its huge. so i don't know..
s17ence is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

ok well, i think im going to order the zalman one. the only complaints i see are that it is huge and it weighs 910 grams. but 2 people posted about having it fit fine on their dfi boards. so, i guess i'll just take the risk and order. if it doesn't fit i can always just return it... but i am making it fit
s17ence is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 03:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Alot of times it is the Capacotors on the voltage regulator the prohibit it from fitting. you can do anything about those if you want to keep your board working.
Him is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 04:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

well i've ordered the zalman, lets hope this one fits
s17ence is offline  
Old 07-08-2005, 04:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Here's to it working!
Him is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 02:57 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

hope so man
__________________

s17ence is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.