Heatpipe touching cap - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2007, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Heatpipe touching cap

I just installed a Ninja on my A8N-E and it is just barely touching a capacitor.

Is this ok?

I tweaked it a bit but not to much. It lines up directly so trying to go one way or the other does not help.

Here are some pics:

SideView

FrontView

Overall

Big deal? No big deal?


Thanks
__________________

__________________
My Rig: "Sandy" used for stock trading
Windows 7 pro
Case-Corsair Obsidian550D
Motherboard- ASrock X79Xtreme6 LGA 2011
CPU- I7-3930K Sandy
PSU- Seasonic X650 Gold
SSD- Corsair Neutron GTX240
HD- WD 1TB Sata6 64MB
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4gb)
GPU- 3x EVGA Geforce GT-640 2GB 128B
Cooling- Monsoon S2 & SwiftechMCP655-PWM
Alphacool 80mmx120mm rad
XSPC RX120 rad
3 Noctua 140mm
5 120mm Gentle typhoons
NZXT fan controller
Razer Black Widow Chroma keyboard
Razer deathadder chroma mouse
4x27", 2x19", 1x24", 1x36" & 1x55" monitors
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 01:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

no big deal at all
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default

Sweet, I did not think so.

Thanks for the reply!
__________________
My Rig: "Sandy" used for stock trading
Windows 7 pro
Case-Corsair Obsidian550D
Motherboard- ASrock X79Xtreme6 LGA 2011
CPU- I7-3930K Sandy
PSU- Seasonic X650 Gold
SSD- Corsair Neutron GTX240
HD- WD 1TB Sata6 64MB
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4gb)
GPU- 3x EVGA Geforce GT-640 2GB 128B
Cooling- Monsoon S2 & SwiftechMCP655-PWM
Alphacool 80mmx120mm rad
XSPC RX120 rad
3 Noctua 140mm
5 120mm Gentle typhoons
NZXT fan controller
Razer Black Widow Chroma keyboard
Razer deathadder chroma mouse
4x27", 2x19", 1x24", 1x36" & 1x55" monitors
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

I don't think it's a big deal, Wouldn't they normally get hot on their own anyhow? Man does that picture put in perspective how huge that cooler is.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 02:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Depends on the load the cap is put under. They can get extremly hot or stay rather cool. But if something touchs one it wont hurt, as long as you don't pull if off the leads...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Extra cooling for that capacitor.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 05:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default

All that heat's spread throughout the 12 heat pipes. It shouldn't be a problem at all.
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 05:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Don't worry about the capacitor. The same thing happened with my old 6200 video card when I put on a Cooler Master Cool Viva

Quote:
Originally posted by M733mhz
Man does that picture put in perspective how huge that cooler is.
My heatsink's bigger:
http://mcs.pc.pl/shop_img/thermaltake/SonicTower_2.jpg

That isn't mine per-se. I have 2 x 120mm fans on mine.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Apokalipse
Don't worry about the capacitor. The same thing happened with my old 6200 video card when I put on a Cooler Master Cool Viva

My heatsink's bigger:
http://mcs.pc.pl/shop_img/thermaltake/SonicTower_2.jpg

That isn't mine per-se. I have 2 x 120mm fans on mine.
those sonics look best when mounted on an x1900... :P

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=123423
joshd is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

What the crap, that's a cool mod but very very fugly.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.