HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2007, 05:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

Hey what is the difference between HDR and no HDR. i see theres better quality with AA as there is no jagged like or anything but when i turn on HDR the AA automatically turns to none so i get all these jagged line but i don't know much of a difference between disabling and enbabling HDR. Also which gives better performance? AA maxed out or HDR on? It seems bad that even though i have no AA on i still get low fps which my 8800 GTS mostly suck at. every other games run pretty good on max settings like F.E.A.R.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 01:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

That is just something that was implemented into oblivion. IMO HDR lighting is a better visual affect then AA, it is also a little more demanding then AA I believe.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

ok so what actually is hdr? i know there are some tools that allow you to have hdr and aa on with ati card but dunno for nvidia anyways yeah i don't really get bothered with the jagged lines but i really get annoyed when it is around 6fps or even 10fps maybe 20 is the minimum i can tolerate and also i can't tolerate bad graphics where i had 1024 x 768 with lowest settings which sucks so bad.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 04:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

HDR=High Dynamic Range. IT vastly improves lighting effects for stuff like...foliage, wet paths, water. Basicly pertty much everywere theres light, its improved. i think.

AA would be necessary for you at 1024x768, the pillars in Imperial City are DISGUSTING without it.

Look at the images > Google Image Result for http://media.arstechnica.com/articles/culture/lostcoast.media/valve-hdr-2.jpg
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 05:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

There is a workaround to get both working at the same time i believe (only for newest cards tho). High dynamic range gives lighting which is looks much more like how the human eye percieves light.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 09:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

I believe AA isn't necessary, if you were to play on high resolutions....because I think the higher resolution smooths it out, on it's own.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 10:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

yeah i agree
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-15-2007, 08:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 141
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

I am playing at 1680 x 1050 using hdr and i see NO jagged lines, there is simply no need for aa at high resolutions and hdr looks amazing
Raknor is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 06:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

But not many people have a 8800GTX ... like you

I run max settings at 1280x768...and i get between 15 and 45 Fps dependent on were i am. In the cities i switch AA on, outside its HDR.

Does anyone know when the high end 8800GTX are going to come down in price (Sub £250) will it be like a year ?
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: HDR w/o AA or AA w/o HDR on Oblivion?

im not certain, but i dont think nvidia cards allow hdr and aa at the same time. help me graphics card people...
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oblivion Shane12m PC Gaming 2 07-01-2007 07:18 AM
Min Oblivion FPS no_Wedge PC Gaming 0 05-24-2007 04:27 PM
Oblivion Fun Help Oreo Microsoft XBox 20 05-06-2007 06:42 PM
Oblivion problem, need to add registry keys... CrazeD PC Gaming 0 04-18-2007 04:45 PM
Oblivion Question? tbsk8er04 PC Gaming 2 03-30-2007 12:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.