HDD not detected - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 72
Exclamation HDD not detected

I recently decided to overclock my computer. I set the frequency from 133 to 150 and it was working perfectly. So then i thought id change the ratio from 1:1 to 2:3. Right after i got out of the bios it wouldnt boot. So i cleared my cmos and i was able to change back my settings.

Then after the post it said boot from cd so i tried to boot xp then it said it cant continue cause it can detect my HDD. I dont know how to get it to work and i dont know if maybe it has something to do with the jumpers or what. please help!
__________________

owenma435 is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 04:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

unless you knocked the cable out of the hdd my guess is when you reset CMOS it lost its record of your hdd and is not autodetecting it again. have a poke around in BIOS for something along the lines of "auto-detect ide drives". that should fix you up.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 72
Default

Ya the IDE cable wasnt in all the way. Everthings working good again thanks a lot.
owenma435 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.