HDD keeps spinning up for no reason - XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2007, 04:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default HDD keeps spinning up for no reason - XP

Hi guys 'n' gals,

I've built a lovely quiet PC for my living room. The only component that's noisy is the HDD, but that's OK, as it should only spin up when it's in use, which is when it's either playing music or video.

However, it just keeps spinning up running for a while, then spinning down again. Does anyone know of a utility that can keep it quiet for me? I will eventually buy a quieter drive, but at the moment it's all I can afford.
__________________

mistafeesh is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 07:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

It doesnt matter what price the HDD was, it shouldnt be randomly spinning up when the pc isnt doing anything!

I mean my 300GB Seagate barracuder sometimes makes the odd "click click" sound when im not doing anything but i think thats perfectly normal as the pc could be accessing the HDD for a number of reasons, but i think constantly fully spinning up and down all the time is not normal.............
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

yuo want to hear a lound hard drive? go get one from 1995 and run it.

I would say windows is accessing it for something
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

^^haha^^
like someone has a lawnmower next to your head.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

yes bt it was awesome if the pc ever broke u could tell the hdd were running fine on start up without opening the case
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

I know people say it all the time, but have you done spyware/virus checks?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Take the cover off your case and run a few Raptors in there. Talk about loud. :P

The operating system accesses the drive periodically for a number of reasons, such as gathering system info, saving event/performance logs, updating software, scanning for viruses/spyware, etc.

You can shut down a lot of services that you don't need via going to "Start > Run > services.msc". Be careful, because if you delete services you actually need then your O/S will no longer work.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

^^lol^^ no doubt...
they call them raptors because it sounds like little vicious dinosaurs are eating your computer...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

I wouldn't be surprised if it's a virus or spyware. The spyware is going to have to access your hard drive to get information and viruses just **** with your computer.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Hi.

I've run the usual checks, and it isn't spyware or virii,

The hdd probably is from about 1995!!! It's only 6gig - it accesses all my media across a network.

I'll have a look at services.msc and try not to blow anything up!
__________________

mistafeesh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.