HDD issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2010, 02:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default HDD issues

Im new the whole building a computer thing.

AMD Phenom x4 965 BE
8g 1333 Patriot Ram
Biostart TA890FXE Mobo
2x ATI 5770's
WD SATA III 6g HDD

WEI scores everything at 7.5+ except my HDD which only scored a 5.4. Im pretty sure i set something up wrong or possibly failed to completly do it at all. Ive been reading about raid setups but there must be another way to achieve good HDD read/write speeds w/o adding a second drive. Hopefully someone can shed some light on this and educate me a little bit.
__________________

Siggies is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: HDD issues

If they are old school platter drives and not SSD drives, you aren't gonna see much higher of a score, also, the windows benchmark is almost useless.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: HDD issues

so i should get SSD drive and say to **** with this HDD? i mean its brandnew, 1tb SATA III (which ive heard is a joke anyways)
Siggies is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 04:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: HDD issues

You won't see a benefit with a SATAIII HDD, platter based drives can't even use all of the SATAII bandwidth, you may be able to get increase performance by going RAID0 with the 1TB drive, but, you won't see much increase in performance, mostly due to the fact they are platter based, and very, very large drives. The only way to get "increased" performance from a platter is to get a higher RPM one, and that tends to become expensive, and they get hot.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: HDD issues

k well i havnt read to much about SSD but i can load windows and all this on there like a nomral HDD?
Siggies is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 07:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: HDD issues

Yes, there is a sticky here in the forum somewhere, most likely at the bottom where the tutorials are that can tell you how to get the most out of an SSD if you happen to go that route, keep the WD for pure storage needs, but let what you want to load fast and what not sit on the SSD.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield 2/gamespy ID issues, and mic issues. Help! Chad711 PC Gaming 14 09-07-2009 03:19 PM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 12:59 PM
Virus --> Sound Issues --> Reformat --> Still Sound Issues craw4d42 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-09-2007 05:37 PM
issues STEELERGLENN Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 07-07-2006 01:51 PM
Serious Issues SwiftAddictions Microsoft Windows and Software 5 10-05-2004 04:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.