HDD Connector help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2004, 08:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default HDD Connector help!

On one of my older computers (1.83GHz/512 DDR333/Geforce Ti4200) I am in a bit of a pickle.

I want two hard drives so that I can one to backup my important files and one for everything else. My question is:

One hard drive is ATA100 (40GB WD) and the one I intend to install is an 80GB Maxtor Diamondmax 9+ ATA133 Hard Drive. Will my Western Digital ATA100 Hard Drive slow my Maxtor ATA133 down to ATA100?
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

thats a toughy. cant u set em up on different IDEs? if not try puttin them both on a 133 cable and hope for the best
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 05:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

no it won't as long at the cable can support it... be sure you're using ata133 ide cables
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 06:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

if the 133 is the slave it should be ok
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

ok i'll give it a go.

Knew it was a tough question Everyone's guess is about as good as mine
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 09:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Exactly, set the faster drive up as the master and use a ATA133 cable. When using the fast drive, you will be communication at a therectical 133 but when you are transferring b/w the drives it'll be at a theretical 100. They hardly go that fast anyway. Main concern here should be RPMs as well.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 07:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

both drives have 7,200 rpm.

Thanks for help everyone, I shall give it a go
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.