HardDisk failure while overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Ibnz320
Default HardDisk failure while overclocking

Is it possible to damage a hard drive while overclocking a pc?
__________________

Ibnz320 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Yes, I forgot Exactly what it was called, but you have to lock the IDE or SATA frequency in the BIOS. Something like that.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Ibnz320
Default

I see nothing in bios that looks like it has anything to do with IDE or SATA frequency. Also...it sounds like there's something loose inside the drive. Just tilting it back and forth while holding it I can here something moving which I've never heard before in a drive. I'm hoping the hard drive might just be defective. I suppose I'll go ahead and send it in and see what seagate says.
Ibnz320 is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Some BIOS don't have locks, which is why I don't overclock cause mine doesn't.

Defintily RMA the drive if its not working but don't tell them anything about overclocking.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 05:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The lock you're thinking of is most likely AGP/PCI/PCI-E...there is no BIOS out there that has the option of locking/unlocking SATA/IDE ports as far as I know

Those should either come locked default or unlocked default and can't be changed, that's why the DFI nf3-D sucks hardcore next to the other DFI boards, it has unlocked SATA ports

System instability can also lead to data corruption FYI
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Ya, thats what I was thinking about, but in short, OCing "can" cause HD instability.

But thats the risk you take when you OC.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

2 of the slots on an MSI K8N NEO2-plat are unlocked and 2 of them are locked so you have to make sure which ones are locked or not, you dont want to OC your hdd do you?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04
Default

I had sorta the same problem when I got into overclocking. When I would increase my cpu speed by 200MHz max I would get a blue screen and it said my hdd had failed "and" my os has been corrupted. The hdd wasnt bad at all but I had to reinstall windows about 7 times before I learned from my mistake lol. Oh and the mistake was I asnt locking my PCI-E speed for my video card.
Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Your not suposed to increase your frequency by 200 all at once, you gotta build and test for stability, When I tried to OC, I did 2 MHZ, then I ran Prime 95 for while, My limit was a total of 30 Mhz, before I started blue screening and prime 95 failed.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 12:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 29
Default

be careful when overclocking!
__________________

reggiewolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.