HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2008, 04:56 PM   #71 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

i don't think thats gonna happen.. lol
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 05:48 PM   #72 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethan_Kaizer View Post
I won't be impressed until they get a CPU to -274C

quite a randome post. why -274???
__________________

computer newbie is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 06:25 PM   #73 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

perhaps that is the temperature of liquid nitrogen?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 07:06 PM   #74 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
perhaps that is the temperature of liquid nitrogen?
wouldent it freaze the CPU thoguh??
computer newbie is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:31 PM   #75 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

nah...phase cooling makes it go in the negatives pretty far too
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:41 PM   #76 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
nah...phase cooling makes it go in the negatives pretty far too
Phase change does not get as cold as liquid nitrogen.

With a 3 stage cascade you looking at temps at about -200F.

Whereas Liquid nitrogen is -321F and can easily keep a cpu near -300F.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 10:18 PM   #77 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
Phase change does not get as cold as liquid nitrogen.

With a 3 stage cascade you looking at temps at about -200F.

Whereas Liquid nitrogen is -321F and can easily keep a cpu near -300F.
sounds like some prety cold temps. its too bad that liqud nitrogen is'nt to feasble for an every dday cooling.
computer newbie is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 07:45 AM   #78 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

Quote:
Originally Posted by computer newbie View Post
quite a randome post. why -274???
-274 is 1 degree below absolute zero (-1K)... thats why!

cascades have hit nozzle temps of around -161.8C (cold_ice's 4 stage @ 111.35K), which is only 36 degrees above the boiling point of nitrogen (-195.8 = 77.3K)... nitrogen is quite cheap (much much cheaper than building a 4 or 5 stage cascade to achieve the same temps) because of its abundance in the atmosphere, however, it can barely hold a load (which is why it evaporates so quickly) and is not feasible for 24/7 cooling
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 12:51 PM   #79 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

Lol @ using liquid nitrogen 10 years from now for everyday cooling.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 06:46 PM   #80 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: HARDCORE COMPUTER'S "REACTOR" project

lol... no one's gonna be changing the laws of physics anytime soon... but you actually could use ln2 24/7, it would just require a 5 stage cascade or a hullava lot of nitrogen and a wickedly engineered setup
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open source 2D game creation framework trying to fill various positions *screenshots* mvBarracuda Programming 28 01-22-2009 10:55 AM
newly added computers to the workgroup using a router can not see the rest of workgro gmeax Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 04-13-2008 10:48 AM
3 computers connected to same router, however 1 is abnormally slow... ac26xp Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 02-02-2008 06:55 PM
New Computers - Which looks best for me? Chris Down New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-13-2007 11:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.