Hard drive question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default Hard drive question

I recently modded my XBox with a 200 gig hard drive that i plan to put into my new computer whenever i get around to building it. What i'm wondering is if one 200 gig 7200 rpm HD will be fine for a good gaming computer. And what is the major differences between SATA and IDE?
__________________

tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It will be fine for gaming

Hard drives really just affect loading speed when you switch maps or levels, and how fast the game loads
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

That'll be fine for gaming.
The main difference between IDE (also called PATA, i think) and SATA is that they transfer data faster/slower depending on how old they are. PATA is characterised by ok transfer rates and those big, fatty ribbon wires. SATA is the most recent, it transfers data the fastest, and it has a nice, skinny wire.
PATA drives are the most common now, but it's expceted that this year SATA will surpass PATA drives in sales. I made the point aboutthe fatty/skinny wires becuase of airflow. Those ribbon wires obstruct airflor, but the SATA wire doesn't.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

will this mobo work with both IDE and SATA in case i want to add a SATA drive along with the one in my XBOX?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-468&depa=1
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea it will it has 4 sata slots
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.