Hard drive to CPU Wire/ribbon help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2005, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to traviswrx
Default Hard drive to CPU Wire/ribbon help.

Well Just got a quick question. I know they got round cables for Cd drives and the floppy drive, but what about the Hard drive wire? Should i just cut it once in the middle and electrical tape it? Then I could sleeve it correct? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/t...lswarrior7.png
PC Specs:
CPU:Intel p4 2.8ghz Northwood.MoBo:Asustek P4sd-le.Ram:G.Skill DDR400 2.5-3-3-6 1GB(2x512mb)HDD(s):1:80gb Segate Barracude7200rpm w/8mb cache92:120gb 7200rpm w/8mb cache seagate barracuda\'s Video Card:eVga 6600GTPSU:560w Thermaltake Silent Purepower. Full sleeved.Case:Blue RaidMax Cobra(many mods). Fans:3x80mm blue LED fans.1x 120mm blue LED fan.Misc:

My sig was too big. I put it on a diet. Viva La Firefox!
traviswrx is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

some people will say cut each line and wrap it blah blah. That takes too much time and is unsafe IMO..chances of cutting the wires are too great, but of course a lot of people have done it successfully.

Just bend it in half, then bend it over again and use electrical tape or zipties to keep it 'round'. I have a cable like that, works good.

BTW: the cable for CD drives is the same as for the HD's, it's an IDE cable
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to traviswrx
Default

Are the connection on the mobo the same?
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/t...lswarrior7.png
PC Specs:
CPU:Intel p4 2.8ghz Northwood.MoBo:Asustek P4sd-le.Ram:G.Skill DDR400 2.5-3-3-6 1GB(2x512mb)HDD(s):1:80gb Segate Barracude7200rpm w/8mb cache92:120gb 7200rpm w/8mb cache seagate barracuda\'s Video Card:eVga 6600GTPSU:560w Thermaltake Silent Purepower. Full sleeved.Case:Blue RaidMax Cobra(many mods). Fans:3x80mm blue LED fans.1x 120mm blue LED fan.Misc:

My sig was too big. I put it on a diet. Viva La Firefox!
traviswrx is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 08:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Yes, both use a 40 pin IDE cable (of the 40 or 80 connecter type).

A floppy drive uses a 32 pin IDE cable.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 08:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

HD's and CD-ROMs can be put on the same cable dude
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 03:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to traviswrx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
HD's and CD-ROMs can be put on the same cable dude

Oh, uh yeah i knew that
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/t...lswarrior7.png
PC Specs:
CPU:Intel p4 2.8ghz Northwood.MoBo:Asustek P4sd-le.Ram:G.Skill DDR400 2.5-3-3-6 1GB(2x512mb)HDD(s):1:80gb Segate Barracude7200rpm w/8mb cache92:120gb 7200rpm w/8mb cache seagate barracuda\'s Video Card:eVga 6600GTPSU:560w Thermaltake Silent Purepower. Full sleeved.Case:Blue RaidMax Cobra(many mods). Fans:3x80mm blue LED fans.1x 120mm blue LED fan.Misc:

My sig was too big. I put it on a diet. Viva La Firefox!
traviswrx is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 03:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
HD's and CD-ROMs can be put on the same cable dude
However a true HD cable has that little notch.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 06:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
However a true HD cable has that little notch.
??? That's still the same cable for CD's and HD's, the only difference is that they have that knotch for 'noob protection' so you make sure to plug it in the right way. That's a newer addition to IDE cables
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 06:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Only differnce between my HDD IDE cable and my CD IDE cable is one has a lot more thinner wires... And my hdd dont like the thicker ones....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

There is no difference dude. The only cables that have distinguishable differences is a HD and CD-ROM ide vs a floppy IDE.

HD's and cd-roms use the exact same.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.