GTX 980 SC overclock! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2016, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default GTX 980 SC overclock!

So far i have gotten it upto 90Mhz on the GPU clock offset. and 20Mhz on the memory clock offset.

How far can i push this card? I'm not even hitting 10k in benchmarks at the moment either.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg oc1.jpg (80.4 KB, 1 views)
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 27,268
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

With fans maxed most 980s will hit 1500MHz easy.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 12:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

So just bumped it upto 100mhz on the core, now my score dropped by almost 100. haha. Should i up the mem clock offset to 100? as well
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 27,268
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

The score dropped because it throttled due to voltage dip or heat, although if you're using 3dmark a 100 variance is almost margin of error.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 12:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

Yeah, i've not tocuhed the voltage yet. 100mhz on the clock, and 50mhz on the mem

*EDIT*
Just hit 10k! YAY haha.
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 12:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 27,268
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHumanComputer View Post
Yeah, i've not tocuhed the voltage yet. 100mhz on the clock, and 50mhz on the mem
I wouldn't bother with clocking the memory as it won't make any difference really. I've upped my VRAM by 300MHz (which equated to like 2100 or something stupid on it) and it didn't make a lick of difference even in benchmarks. We aren't limited by memory bandwidth with their delta compression.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 12:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

So, how should i do this? it's currently at this so far. I'll attach a pic.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg oc2.jpg (81.0 KB, 1 views)
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 01:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 27,268
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

Easy, raise fan speed to about 75%, max voltage, click overvoltage, raise power target /output temp all the way over (they're linked), then raise GPU clock offset by another 50MHz. With those settings you can probably reach 250 offset.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 01:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

I didn't want to go that far as the gpu seems to be making a noise when i do the bench testing and stress test (not sure if its the fans or the actual gpu)

I just did a stress test and said it failed... lol not sure what happened there
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 01:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 27,268
Default Re: GTX 980 SC overclock!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHumanComputer View Post
I didn't want to go that far as the gpu seems to be making a noise when i do the bench testing and stress test (not sure if its the fans or the actual gpu)

I just did a stress test and said it failed... lol not sure what happened there
It's called coil whine and it's normal, won't affect the card.

If you didn't raise the targets or voltage it won't go very far on stock. You'll also need to pretty much max the fan as the auto ramp won't be quick enough to help the heat. Should also mention, the maxed voltage meter and clicking overvoltage are within the tolerances built into the bios. It won't do anything to damage the card. I ran 2 980s at 1540-1600 for 6 months straight like that and IIRC iFargle is still using them.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 660TI & GTX 980 working together? Joachim123 System Upgrades 4 08-07-2015 09:02 AM
GTX 980 displayport black screen problem iParanormalx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-18-2015 11:23 AM
GTX 980 - which make? iParanormalx New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-02-2015 06:16 PM
Tri Screen gaming on single GTX 980 the1truegamer System Upgrades 3 12-26-2014 04:54 PM
GIGABYTE GTX 980 the1truegamer System Upgrades 9 09-25-2014 12:05 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.