GTX 970 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2017, 10:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
DBrown51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portage
Posts: 81
Default GTX 970

I've been experimenting with overclocking my GPU, most guides say to increase threshold by +10, I've gotten up to +50 and stopped, I didn't want to go any further, also at +50 I didn't notice any gameplay differences(arma 3) Do I need to go higher, is it safe to go higher, I tried looking to see how high I could go but couldn't find anything

Thanks
__________________

DBrown51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 10:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,018
Default Re: GTX 970

What's the rest of your machine's specs?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 10:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
DBrown51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portage
Posts: 81
Default Re: GTX 970

I7 processor, 12 GB of ram, anything else?
DBrown51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 11:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,018
Default Re: GTX 970

Models? Case, cooling setup, PSU, what specific 970, what software you're using to overclock with, ect.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
DBrown51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portage
Posts: 81
Default Re: GTX 970

I7 4790s, NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 970, DDR3 RAM, I have 3 fans, Corsair - CX Series Modular CX750M 750W
DBrown51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 11:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,018
Default Re: GTX 970

Well, the 970 and 980 can OC quite a bit but it all depends on your cooling. If you're not already I suggest using MSI Afterburner, going to settings and clicking unlock voltage, then maxing out that and the power limit bar. Start your OC off with +100 on core. Don't bother OCing the VRAM.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
DBrown51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portage
Posts: 81
Default Re: GTX 970

Thanksa lot, I forgot to mention, I use EVGA precision for the OCing
DBrown51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 07:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
DBrown51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portage
Posts: 81
Default Re: GTX 970

I'm also thinking of upgrading the 970 to 1080, would there be huge benefit of doing so? I do not intend to upgrade my monitor yet which 1080.
DBrown51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 12:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,445
Default Re: GTX 970

Mostly depends on what games you're planning on playing. I upgraded from a 970 to a 1070, and while it helped in some games, other games I don't notice any difference.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
DBrown51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Portage
Posts: 81
Default Re: GTX 970

Arma 3 is usually my benchmark, I would imagine a 1080 would be more beneficial for that game
__________________

DBrown51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
960 gtx 4g vs 970 gtx 1337infamous System Upgrades 2 11-11-2015 09:27 AM
GTX 970 Low fps on almost everything Diehardx95 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 44 02-10-2015 03:15 PM
GTX 970 uprgade into Asus GT10AC Apex6767 System Upgrades 1 01-15-2015 10:07 PM
Need help picking the best GTX 970 if possible krazyq System Upgrades 16 11-05-2014 06:36 PM
ASUS i7 2GHz, 17.3", 8GB DDR3, 1TB HD, GTX 560M - $970 smashedpumpkins Laptops and Notebooks 1 01-19-2012 11:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.