Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2007, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?



Also, I went into BIOS to tweak the times (mobo in sig) and I couldn't find where to edit them, only where to up the volt. Obviously, I want it to be 4-4-4-12.
__________________

__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

In the main BIOS menu hit ctrl-f1. Then go into performance setting (i think) and you will see the timing options. And don't look for this in the manual, cause its not there. (I really don't know why).
__________________

__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

The reason your timings are so loose is because you have the memory overclocked to 1000mhz and set to auto. The bios loosens the timings to make it more stable. But ya, it took me about 2 weeks of asking for someone to finally tell me ctrl-f1 to get the memory timings. Also if you want to run 1:1 the memory multi is 2.5 - 3.0 - 2.0. Its not in the correct order which caused me some confusion when i first started messing with it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

Ok, I set it in BIOS to 4-4-4-12, but it still shows up on CPU-Z as 5-6-6-19. However, in the SPD time (whatever that is) it says if the volt is 2.1 it would be 4-4-4-12.

I'm unaware of the current voltage. I'll get on the internet with my laptop and diagnose the pc so I can respond faster.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

^^ I second that, I would change the Ram multiplier to 2 if you can't get your ram to be stable at its rated timing (which is a high probability).
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

Ok, I changed the RAM multi to 2.0, let's see what happens.

*edit*
I changed the volt to 2.0 and now it reads 5-4-4-13. It's 1:1 though.

Yeah, it did fail to post 3 times when I originally changed it to 4-4-4-12. I noticed because I saw the CPU speed was different at POST. That was the only thing I changed. I'll double check all the options again.
__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 12:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnelson07 View Post
Ok, I set it in BIOS to 4-4-4-12, but it still shows up on CPU-Z as 5-6-6-19. However, in the SPD time (whatever that is) it says if the volt is 2.1 it would be 4-4-4-12.

I'm unaware of the current voltage. I'll get on the internet with my laptop and diagnose the pc so I can respond faster.
I would recheck you BIOS setting. Your mother board has an auto-matic reset which will happen if something you changed made your PC not post, so possible you're ram was not stable enough to boot windows and it reset to the stable loose timing.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

The board's default memory voltage is 1.8, you'll need to bump the manual voltage to at least +.2v
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 12:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
The board's default memory voltage is 1.8, you'll need to bump the manual voltage to at least +.2v
As long as that is what the RAM is rated at, but I think Gskillz HZ is. But just double check first.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 12:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: Gskill Hz 5-6-6-19!?

All fixed. After the computer failed to POST 3 times and reset the CMOS, the only thing I changed was the FSB to get 3.0GHz. I checked the RAM timings again and saw they were correct and that the voltage was at 2.0. The one thing I missed was even though the timings were correct, I forgot to make sure it was on manual and not auto.
Little mistake. Thanks for the help guys! I appreciate it a lot. It's 3.0GHz and 4-4-4-12! Woot!
__________________

__________________
Case: LIAN LI PC-A70B
Mobo: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3.0GHz
HSF: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
RAM: 4GB G.SKILL @ 4-4-4-12
VCard: EVGA 8800GTS G92 @ 700/1000
HDDs: 2x 750GB & 250GB
Optical: Sony NEC SATA DVD Burner
PSU: Silverstone 750W Modular
mnelson07 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Comparison. Patriot, Corsair, Gskill OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-09-2007 11:22 AM
Wtf!!!!!!! veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-02-2007 09:49 AM
gskill HZ vs. xms2c4 Nagasama Overclocking and Modding 14 06-19-2007 01:05 PM
Gskill NQ overlcock siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-27-2007 11:57 PM
Great deal on 2gb kit gskill ram! j12 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 04-14-2007 11:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.