GRR, SLI is gaying me i think. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2008, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

I've been OCing my cards alot and testing out diffrent stuff to see if i could get my 3dmark06 score higher but it juts keeps staying around the same area.

Well, i just tried something on a hunch, I ran 3dmark06 with 2x 8800 GT 512mb in SLI and my score was 13163

I ran it again with sli disabled

13261


WWTTFF?

I'm doing something wrong....
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

are you sure you disabled sli when you ran the test? just unplug a card and run it, 13 seems like a decent score for two of those cards

how are you overclocking your cards? that may be a problem
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

I OC through rivatuner, I did kind of jump to 700/1000 fast, because i went up by 20 on the core and memory lol. Do you think going back down to stock and testing them out with like slow increments would be best?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 11:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

overclocking high is no problem, but use ATI Tool if you can mate, Riva Tuner is not the greatest

ATI Tool (if its been updated for the gt) has a built in artifact checker (thats how you tell if your clock is stable) and it has a 3d cube that heats up your card
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 11:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

Then i have to get the updated verison because everytime i run the find max core and memory with atitool, it crashes and i have to restart my comp.

But ill look for that update


Ok, i updated it and now it wont let me check max core or memory because "i dont have an ati card"


All i CAN do is scan for artifacts and look at that cube thingy
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 12:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

try the different versions suggested in this forum thread 8800GT 512MB, ATI Tool.exe error

if that doesn't work, just use rivatuner to overclock (you can later flash the settings into the bios if you want) and then check the temps/stability with ATITool
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 01:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

13 is not a good score for 2...thats what I get with my 1 GT 512 stock.

atitool works fine for me on mine.

what drivers are you using?
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 01:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

yea 13k is definitely a single card score.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 03:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

Yep, i get about 12.5K and thats with a single 8800GT at stock and an e6300 @ 3.2GHz.

also, ive never heard 'gay' being used as a verb before... I lol'd at the thread title.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 04:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: GRR, SLI is gaying me i think.

I have it at verison .26

When i test max memory and let it run, it eventually crashes.

Is this normal? because if i stop it when i see the yellow sqigglys then its fine.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All New NVIDIA Chipsets to Feature IGP and Hybrid SLI maroon1 New Technology and Products 6 05-06-2008 04:19 PM
New Triple SLI Machine Rhym3z New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-29-2008 02:32 PM
Asus P5N32-E SLi Plus NosBoost300 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 01-14-2008 05:04 AM
NVIDIA Launching 3 way SLI Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 12-12-2007 09:55 PM
Intel X38 Supports SLI ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.