A greeting and some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Condar

Solid State Member
Greetings all,

I've been looking for a good forum about pc building recently, and just stumbled across the Tech Forums. After reading various posts here, it looks like you guys know your stuff, so I may have found myself a new home.

Just a little background, I'm a Computer Science/Computer Information Assurance major, currently in my sophomore year. Thus, I'm more into the software side of things and have never really gotten into hardware. This summer, I will have a budget of around $2,500 for a new computer, and I have heard (and am quite confident) it is much cheaper to build a computer than to buy one from a retailer.

The problem is, as mentioned before, I am quite a newbie when it comes to hardware. I've never built a computer before, and have essentially been 'wandering aimlessly' around the internet for resources and information on getting started.

What I've determined so far is that I will be building an AMD based system, as the processors I've found are cheaper than Intel and I've heard AMD processors are better for gaming. My main games at the moment include HalfLife 2, Pirates!, Rome: Total War, and EverQuest II. As such, I'm looking to build a very good gaming system (which of course will be able to handle every other normal task I perform) with the budget I have.

So my questions to you all really are:
1.) What would be a good place to look for some computer-building basics?
2.) Will it be possible to build a system with my budget that can run the above (and similar) games with high detail and speeds in my budget ($2000-2500)?
3.) What suggestions do you have about various components (particular brands, parts you would recommend for this comp, etc)?

Thank you all in advance!

-James

Your budget shoudl be plenty to give you a great system that will work very well with your games as well as everything else you might be doing.