Graphics cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2005, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Graphics cooling

hey guys i just bought BattleField 2 (awesome game) but i only get about 15fps in high quality mode and about 20 in medium....i get 50fps in low quality mode....i thought that if i OC'd my graphics card a lil that it would i need some aftermarket cooling! could you recomend a hsf for the GPU? thanks

BTW: the system specs are in my sig

H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 04:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r

Arctic Silver Sells vga cooling. Or get a PCI Exhaust fan.

First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum

AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

Zalman VF700-Cu. I have one and it works very well.

You do however lose a PCI slot because of the size.

\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r

thats fine...i have about 3 free anyway thanks for the help....also what kind of performance gain could i expect from an aftermarket cooler?
H4x3r is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 08:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220


no matter how much you OC your card it won't help you

time for a new card

I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 10:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 59
Send a message via Yahoo to -=YODA, I AM=-

yah, new parts fix everything

-=YODA, I AM=- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.