gpu speed vs GDDR3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2005, 08:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Question gpu speed vs GDDR3

i know most graphics card run at different speeds. Ive got my 6600GT running at 585mhz core speed, and the memory at 1170mhz.

now does the same apply as between the cpu and system memory as to the gpu and graphics memory, that they should both be the same speed, ie HHT at 400 and pc3200 for the system?

because with the new graphics memory being so fast and most cores not reaching 600mhz is there any point the memory being able to operate at above double the gpu speed or is that how it works best?

also how do i find out what the timings are on my graphics and is it possible to lower them?

thanks
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

They balance memory speed and GPU speed pretty well.

GPU's get more pipepines, higher bitrates ECT to boost their peformance, clock speed hasnt taken that much of a leap. However to get more bandwidth out of memory, we give it a boost.

BTW Nice overclock if it's stable
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The memory and cores of graphics cards don't operate like a CPU. You don't have to worry about one 'bottlenecking' the other because it doesn't work like that. You just keep cranking it as high as you can simply put

Yes there are RAM timings for cards, but not like the normal timings you're used to and I highly suggest you don't even bother with them.

Download Nibitor 2.0

You can open your cards BIOS and play around with options in there, but yeah I'd only do that so you can look at whats in there, not to actually change anything
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 09:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

lol Nubius... no you wouldent hehe....
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 02:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

is there anything in there that is worth changin to improve the card or not? i know my card has 8pipelines so i know its different to a cpu, but how does that effect the memory, you seen anywhere where it tells you how it works? or is that sumthing nvidia and ati keep close to the chest?
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.