GPU reaching 185F under load. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2010, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 150
Default GPU reaching 185F under load.

Is this way too hot?
__________________

__________________
http://i.imgur.com/sWOIK.png
PositiveKaram is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

185F is 85C. Which is safe. Most are rated up to 90-100C, I believe.

But you should try to get it lower. You can clean the dust off the GPU's heatsink, increase airflow to the GPU or within the case, lower the ambient room temperature, or use an aftermarket heatsink.

It's preferable to keep the load temperatures around 60-70C (or 140-158F).
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 150
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

There's no dust, it's a brand new card. I guess I could pull the case window off for now?
__________________
http://i.imgur.com/sWOIK.png
PositiveKaram is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

What case?

Gpus are very airflow dependant
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

What's the GPU? If it's a 470 or 480 the temps are normal I believe.
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 150
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

Cooler Master Elite 334 Elite 334 NVIDIA EDITION - Cooler Master

It's an older, GeForce GTS 250.
__________________
http://i.imgur.com/sWOIK.png
PositiveKaram is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

It has a side mount for a fan, but that's for the CPU. You'd need to mod the side panel if you want to add a side intake for the GPU.

Taking the side panel off would be a possible solution. And temporary, unless you have no problem with having the side panel off.

Try the other suggestions that I mentioned in my previous post.

It also says that the front fan is optional. Do you have a front intake fan installed? If not, you should.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 01:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

Have you tried just turning up the GPU fan speed? Sometimes the default "automatic" fan control opts to let the card get hot in favor of a quiet fan, but this isn't a good idea. Turn up the fan a bit using an nVidia tweaking app like RivaTuner (don't think nVidia has fan control built into its drivers like ATi does).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 02:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

That could be it...what calcprogrammer mentioned.

My default fan speed was 30% and I had to use a third party program to manually adjust it.

I like to use EVGA Precision for Nvidia cards. It's also more user friendly than RivaTuner, in my opinion.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 04:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: GPU reaching 185F under load.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
Have you tried just turning up the GPU fan speed? Sometimes the default "automatic" fan control opts to let the card get hot in favor of a quiet fan, but this isn't a good idea. Turn up the fan a bit using an nVidia tweaking app like RivaTuner (don't think nVidia has fan control built into its drivers like ATi does).
nVidia has a program called nTune its an overclocking program with a fan speen controller for their cards.

NVIDIA nTune

I'd suggest using that it's a great program especially for OCing.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI Has the Fastest Single GPU card on the Planet Osiris New Technology and Products 2 12-03-2009 01:51 PM
linux GPU and other kmote Folding @ Home 5 12-26-2008 10:24 PM
Switching from 3870 to 4870. Will PC work with out a gpu? Chad711 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-27-2008 01:29 AM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750(2) mtslegacy Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-14-2007 09:48 AM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.