GPU Ocing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2011, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GUAM
Posts: 31
Default GPU Ocing

So im not sure if im doing this right or if my GPU is just not as good as i thought it would be lol....

Rig Specs:

CPU: Intel i7-2600k OC'd @4.5GHz
Mobo: Gigabyte p67a-ud7-b3
RAM: 8gb g.skill
GPU: MSI n580GTX 3gb DDR5 Lightning Extreme Edition
PSU: Corsair 850w
HDD&SDD: Samsung 64gb(Boot Drive)
2x HDD 1tb seagate barricuda
Monitor: Samsung Syncmaster PX2370 (res:1920x1080)
case: Thermaltake v9 blacx edition

I went through with this build thinking i wouldnt have to bother with OCing my GPU, but just recently was having some low FPS with FF14 (the first few days i really didnt have my FPS monitor on because i had no problems whatsoever playing this game and high specs) but just now im getting below 20 FPS average and im seeing some tears along my screen.

My multisampling was at 8x and most of my settings were set on high, but ambient occlusion was off. So with that being said i wanted to see my benchmark score just at stock settings with my GPU i scored around 2300 on Furmark 1.8.2. (Using MSI's Afterburner to OC the GPU)

the settings at default were:
Core Voltage: 1025
Core Clock: 832
Shader Clock: 1664
Memory Clock: 2100
Fan: On AUto

ran Furmark on Fullscreen (1920x1080)multisampling:4x 60ms

now OCd the settings gradually till i started getting black screens and constant rebooting and stopped at

Core Voltage: 1100
Core Clock: 980
Shader Clock: 1960
Memoery CLock 2160
Fan Speed: 70

...I can actually go up more but just stopped here because wanted to see a quick benchmark test...and came up with around 1800....o.O

now im not sure what i did there to make it lower? Lol
can someone maybe point in some direction to what im doin wrong, please bare with me lol first time in all this OCing xD
__________________

Jack_who689 is offline  
Old 08-25-2011, 12:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: GPU Ocing

Furmark is worthless as a benchmark, it's really only suited for temperature diagnostic. Download and run 3DMark 11 or the Unigine Heaven Benchmark or I think there maybe a FF benchmark. And post a score link or a screenshot or both (depending upon the benchmark you run).
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-25-2011, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GUAM
Posts: 31
Default

ok will do thanks brb for post

ok so i downloaded Unigne heaven benchmark utility. installed it and crap...but when i open it up just gives me black screen in windowed mode with the Unigine logo in the bottom corner so idk whats up with that so im gonna try for 3DMark 11
Jack_who689 is offline  
Old 08-26-2011, 08:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: GPU Ocing

Please don't double post, if you have something else to add to the conversation and no one has posted a reply since your last post (within a 24 hr. period), please use the edit button (looks like a pencil) to add it to your previous post.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-26-2011, 09:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GUAM
Posts: 31
Default Re: GPU Ocing

Ran 3DMark 11 got X2262 after did benchmark testings...pretty much on all my test didnt go above 15FPS -.-.....

Below is specs,settings,etc.

Description:

Processor
Intel Core i7-2600K Processor

Processor clock
4489 MHz

Physical / logical processors
1 / 4

# of cores
4

Graphics Card
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580

Vendor
Micro-Star International Co ., Ltd.

# of cards
1

SLI / CrossFire
Off

Memory
3072 MB

Core clock
832 MHz

Memory clock
2100 MHz

Driver name
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580

Driver version
8.17.12.7533

Driver status
FM Approved

General

Operating system
64-bit Windows 7 (6.1.7601)

Motherboard
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. P67A-UD7-B3

Memory
8192 MB

Module 1
4096 MB G.Skill 9 @ 800 MHz
Module 2
4096 MB G.Skill 9 @ 800 MHz

Detailed scores

3DMark Score
X2262
Graphics Score
2051
Physics Score
6367
Combined Score
2758
GraphicsTest1
10 FPS
GraphicsTest2
10 FPS
GraphicsTest3
10 FPS
GraphicsTest4
6 FPS
PhysicsTest
20 FPS
CombinedTest
12 FPS

Settings

Default settings used
Yes

Edition
Advanced

Screen Width
1920
Screen Height
1080
Msaa Sample Count
4
Texture Filtering Mode
Anisotropic
Max Af Anisotropy
16
Tessellation Detail
5
Max Tessellation Factor
15
ShadowMapSize
10
Shadow Cascade Count
5
Surface Shadow Sample Count
16
Volumetric Illumination Quality
5
Ambient Occlusion Quality
10
Depth Of Field Quality
10
Enable Window Mode
Off
Enable Vertical Sync
Off
Enable Triple Buffering
Off
Enable Wireframe
Off
Color Saturation
100%

Some of those settings idk whether i was to lower it or increase it, so i needa do more research on that, and also i havent tried doing a benchmark test with my GPU OC'd(Using MSI afterburner). So i thought i coulda got more outta this GPU unless im just not setting it up right or something, Would be cool if someone can give me some pointers

Thanks!
Jack_who689 is offline  
Old 08-26-2011, 11:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: GPU Ocing

Post a link to your results, like this

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 480 video card benchmark result - Intel Core i7-2600K Processor,ASUSTeK Computer INC. P8P67 DELUXE score: P11263 3DMarks
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-26-2011, 11:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GUAM
Posts: 31
Default Re: GPU Ocing

http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1729091?show...ureSqwKsYcY4St

so guessing im just not running SLI compared to your score lol
**** woulda been better to just buy 2x480 than this $600 GTX 580 xD

unless there something else that points out why im getting the score im getting lol
Jack_who689 is offline  
Old 08-27-2011, 11:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: GPU Ocing

I paid $600 for each of my GTX480's when they were released. Plus my system is highly overclocked.

Your score is just a little low for your system spec's. You have Hyper-Threading disabled and 3DMark11 will benefit with it being enabled.

Since your worried about your FF14 gameplay you should try the FF14 benchmark. I'll post my scores after I run it.

FilePlanet: Final Fantasy XIV Benchmark


Edit:

FF14 Benchmark, single GTX480 with no OC, 2600K @ 5GHz



FF14 Benchmark, GTX480 SLI with no OC, 2600K @ 5GHz

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-27-2011, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: GPU Ocing

Lol I paid $750 each, and that was back when the US dollar was still better than the AU dollar ripped off.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 08-28-2011, 01:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: GUAM
Posts: 31
Default Re: GPU Ocing

ok ****, idk what was going on when i was getting below 30 FPS when i was playing FF14 but for some reason after i ran benchmark than got a score of 6600...logged back into FF14 FPS was doing fine up at 55-60 which is ok for me lol...

Heres a SS of just a recent FF benchmark:


-But glad i ran into this topic, because i really want to see what i can do to get a better result out off 3DMark 11. Ran 3Dmark11 again right after i did the FF benchmarks and still got around 2000-2500. The only option i can see is go SLI with GTX580s...ive OC'd as much as i can using MSI's Afterburner so thats the only option i really have left xD

heres a SS of what afterburner has my GPU OC to:


Thanks again for the help!
__________________

Jack_who689 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK, ocing my q6600 to 3.6 & ram ocing. (no, not a how do i oc thread) Luke Overclocking and Modding 10 08-29-2008 02:44 PM
Need ocing help nerdygeek Overclocking and Modding 22 10-06-2007 04:12 AM
OCing my CPU [once again] phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 0 08-03-2007 01:48 AM
Help with ocing gtx Raknor Overclocking and Modding 0 07-15-2007 08:28 PM
Which RAM would be best for OCing? wtk pro l Overclocking and Modding 2 03-14-2006 12:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.