GPU Memory underclocked? What's up with fan? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2008, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 137
Default GPU Memory underclocked? What's up with fan?

CHAINTECH GSE85GT 512MB GeForce 8500 GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail


That's the card I have. It's memory clock is supposed to be 800 Mhz. GPU-Z window:



Yea...the memory clock is 266 Mhz. Also the fan speed is 0% even though I have seen the fan spinning.

Can someone tell me what's wrong? If you need more information about my system, let me know.
__________________

Jawnskeel is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 137
Default Re: GPU Memory underclocked? What's up with fan?

Okay, well I just increased the memory clock. Also did a slight core clock increase. Uh, gonna try it in games see if it freezes up on me. This GPU is disposable, so I won't be way too bummed if it dies.


Also, on RivaTuner the fan was set to automatic...and it never went above 0, even when it's temps got high. I created some profiles that I will utilize now.
__________________

Jawnskeel is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: GPU Memory underclocked? What's up with fan?

GPU-Z reads 0% fan for me also, but I have an acellero with a scythe powered directly from the psu, there is no way it can know the fan speed.

As for your memory the answer is complex but this is what I think is happening. You have GDDR2 memory. Like all double data rate memory its advertised speed (called effective) isn't the real speed it runs at, that is because it has twice the bandwidth (think 4 lane highway as opposed to a 2 lane) so the memory has the same bandwidth as normal dram that had a clock twice as high. GPU-z is reading your true speed, not effective. But that doesn't completely solve the problem, because it should read 400mhz then. I know some Nvidia gpus actually throttle themselves when running in 2d mode and go to full speed in 3d mode. I believe that is why you are showing 266mhz instead of 400mhz. The other possibility is that the memory is defective and running at a low speed, but that is less likely.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 12:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: GPU Memory underclocked? What's up with fan?

im not sure if this is right but i think the reason its showing 0 on fan is cuz on ur card it only has a 2 pin connector so its only a positive and negative wires. you need 3 or more connectors for the fan to give feed back telling its speed.

oh and try downloading ati tool and do the scan for errors test and go in gpuz while its running see if it goes to 400mhz on the ram.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 12:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: GPU Memory underclocked? What's up with fan?

Stalin has a good point. The fan has to have an extra wire to transmit data. Since it is a cheap video card that isn't meant for overclocking they probably didn't include that.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make integrated gpu use maximum memory? Millenniumtiger Laptops and Notebooks 12 08-20-2008 09:00 PM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM
GPU fan not working Andyf Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-16-2007 06:41 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.