Got My Parts - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 11:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

INSTALL ALL HARDWARE ONTO THE BOARD WITH POWER OFF NOT ON! Shesh never put something on it with the power on like diablo said
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

he never said to put stuff in while the power was on... i think you misread that, but anyway, yeah, its easy to put a computer together, everything only fits in 1 spot. the knowledge comes in when you have to fix computers...
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:05 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
You only need to use the alcohol if your going to remove the thermal pad/grease that comes with the HSF or when you take the HSF off to put new thermal grease on the CPU, and i think anything above 75% would work. So if your not going to put some thermal paste on there dont worry....
Well no you don't NEED to clean it. But it's recommended since there could be oils, dirt, and other residues on there that the alcohol will remove, whether you're using grease or pad.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Or instead of grounding yourself to 1 power supply, you can stand on a few
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 04:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

I ended up cleaning that gray, what my dad said was double sided tape, since i took off the fan and stuff, and put some grease that my dad had left over, guessing it came with his cpu.

and diablo, the back audio plug-ins wont fit in the case, as there is a fan in the way, and also is the mobo sound better than a 24-bit blaster live that i salvaged from my old dell?

Also, there is a gold spot on one of the chips on the mobo, should i be worried about this cause it looks scary.

One last thing, i put thermal grease on my cpi, the layer i put on was see-through in parts of it, and others spots of the cpu has just a little more that which makes it not see-through. was that the right ammount? enough? too much, will it squish off the sides? if a little does go off the side, what will it do to the cpu? and after i get it ready to turn on, how hot should my cpu be so i can leave it in bios for a little bit and make sure it doesnt overheat.

edit:forgot to thank you guys for the help, so thanks
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Quote:
4.) boot up your computer stick only one stick of ram in DIMM2
He said turn it on before he said ram :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 08:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vampire_Slayer
I ended up cleaning that gray, what my dad said was double sided tape, since i took off the fan and stuff, and put some grease that my dad had left over, guessing it came with his cpu.

and diablo, the back audio plug-ins wont fit in the case, as there is a fan in the way, and also is the mobo sound better than a 24-bit blaster live that i salvaged from my old dell?

Also, there is a gold spot on one of the chips on the mobo, should i be worried about this cause it looks scary.

One last thing, i put thermal grease on my cpi, the layer i put on was see-through in parts of it, and others spots of the cpu has just a little more that which makes it not see-through. was that the right ammount? enough? too much, will it squish off the sides? if a little does go off the side, what will it do to the cpu? and after i get it ready to turn on, how hot should my cpu be so i can leave it in bios for a little bit and make sure it doesnt overheat.

edit:forgot to thank you guys for the help, so thanks
Gold spot? I don't think it's anything to worry about, seems a little odd...
Well instead of spearding it all the way across you should have probably just got a amount in the middle so that it isn't quite see-through. Then when you attach the heatsink it will spread near to the edges but not over.
I think you;ll be fine though.

For the sound I think if it is an audigy Live! 5.1 sound card it might be a bit better than the onboard (well maybe not quality, but in running games and stuff it will give you less work for the processor) though I would recommend grabbing an audigy 2 ZS. That card is just great and only like $65.

For you temps in the 30's C or maybe 40's and you should be good. If it's in the 50s or 60s then tell us as there is most likely something wrong.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

ok thanks, lol the psu that came with the case is 20 pin, so i need to get an adapter, and also my old cd drives have the holes drilled too far in the bad, so when i try to fit it in it goes too far forward, making it so i cant close the top door. so i guess im gonna be buying a new drive, and an adapter, and then i can get it up and running. also, i cant get my hands on windows xp anymore, so i may have to download that beta 64 xp.........is it as stable and secure as the original? does it get frequent updates? and when the 1 year runs out will I have to pay to keep it running, or will i only need to pay to get updates? and one less question, when the psu gets ##A for 12V, is it the higher, or lower ##A(example mine is a 20A) better? gonna be busy for a couple days, but i should have it up and running this weekend, guess ill have to play a few games and burn in the cpu, then see if i can save up for some better cooling. looking at zalman and artic silver......ill make sure to post the stats before and after when i do oc so that you guys can see what the parts you suggested are capable of
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

is this a good adapter?
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...183-045&depa=0
this a good cd drive, and will it fit better than the old dell ones?
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...152-035&DEPA=1
and will getting a 24 pin adapter even help it any?
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 10:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

The DVD burner is good.
I don't thin you need an adapter, on most boards you can just put the 20 pin in and leave 4 pins empty and it works fine. A 24 pin adapter won't make it any better, a true 24 pin power supply would though...

If you want to do some serious overclocking I would get a better power supply and an aftermarket heatsink with arctic silver 5 for the cpu. You can overclock on stock, just not as much as you could aftermarket.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.