Got my 2.66P4 up to 3.14 ghz and still stable! - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 01:51 PM   #51 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

well i cant go to 2.65 only 2.7, should i go there?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 01:51 PM   #52 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Sure.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 01:59 PM   #53 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

ok i shall, i will se you in 12 hours, well you probly wount be up at 2am easter north american time but any who, im off to the testing
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 02:00 PM   #54 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Cool good luck.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 02:05 PM   #55 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

thanks for your help man
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 02:23 PM   #56 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

No problem. BTW, when you overclock you should test your cpu and ram seperately. What I mean by this is to test you cpu alone set the ram to the lowest and jack up the fsb.

Example: FSB & RAM @ 200MHz each. Set the ram to 100MHz and keep the fsb at 200. Now start jacking the FSB up, lets say you get it to 225 now the ram will be running at 125MHz (75 less than stock speeds so there should be no reason for it to error out). At this point where ever the computer errors out you know it's the CPU and not the ram. So say your CPU's fsb can only go up to 260. Then you set the ram and the CPU's fsb back at 200MHz and start increasing the FSB. If you start getting errors at say 240MHz then you know it's the ram. That when you either bump uip the voltage, loosen the timings or run a ram divider and put the ram speed at like 166MHz.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 02:29 PM   #57 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

DARN!!! i got a erro after 2 mins
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 02:30 PM   #58 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Read my post above to make sure it's the ram.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 02:31 PM   #59 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
No problem. BTW, when you overclock you should test your cpu and ram seperately. What I mean by this is to test you cpu alone set the ram to the lowest and jack up the fsb.

Example: FSB & RAM @ 200MHz each. Set the ram to 100MHz and keep the fsb at 200. Now start jacking the FSB up, lets say you get it to 225 now the ram will be running at 125MHz (75 less than stock speeds so there should be no reason for it to error out). At this point where ever the computer errors out you know it's the CPU and not the ram. So say your CPU's fsb can only go up to 260. Then you set the ram and the CPU's fsb back at 200MHz and start increasing the FSB. If you start getting errors at say 240MHz then you know it's the ram. That when you either bump uip the voltage, loosen the timings or run a ram divider and put the ram speed at like 166MHz.
can you break this down a little more? just tell me where to go to test each one, i know what your talking about just not were to go

so to test my cpu the most i should put the fsb on the ram low? and to test the RAM i should do that vice versa?
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 02:55 PM   #60 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You kind of got it. Ok I'll break it down into little steps and use numbers and frequencies according to your system.

1. Set the ram speed to 66MHz and keep the FSB at 133MHz.

2. Overclock it back to 3.14GHz using the same voltage and FSB (157) while keeping the ram at 66MHz.

3. At this point you will have raised your FSB to 157MHz and you ram will now be running at 90MHz (66+24=90).

4. Now you must start raising the FSB slowly to test the stability or you CPU and where it maxes out.

5. Find out the CPU's max FSB setting along with the voltage your using and write it down.

6. Put you ram back to stock speeds (133MHz) and you CPU FSB 157.

7. Raise the FSB slowly until you start getting errors.

8. Now you know at what maximum operating speed your ram is capable of running at.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.