Got a dell comp. can i buy a new mob and OC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Got a dell comp. can i buy a new mob and OC?

Hey I just bought a Dell computer used out of the classifieds and of course being factory built I cant over clock through BIOS so I was wondering if there is a compatible aftermarket mother board and I get that would I then be able to overclock. And is there any motherboard that you guys would recommend that can work with a P4 processor and whatever ram dell uses (SDRAM i think)
Thanks
__________________

S Bomb is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well you can find your motherboard model and flash its bios to the non dell version lol unless its a dell motherboard. but a friend of mine had a dell and it had an asus motherboard. so it should work.
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Ya you can buy a new mobo, but then you have to buy a new case, and psu, because dells cases and psu are propiatary to their cases, you cant put another mobo in a dell case, and a dell PSU arent normal atx powersupplys, because they change the shape of them.

So you have to get new mobo, psu(power supply unit), case, also you have to buy a new heatsink fan combo, because dells use air duct cooling for their cpus, and the duct will only fit in a dell case.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 12:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

maybe you should just sell ur dell! and build a system.
burned-ati is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 04:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

My friend bought a new mobo for his dell and went from 2.2ghz to 3.2ghz. We were both amazed.
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by burned-ati
maybe you should just sell ur dell! and build a system.
i was thinking about it but I was able to get my Dell system with a keyboard, mouse and speakers for 290.00 which isnt bad for a Pentium 4 computer with 256 ram, 40 gig hd, and windows xp pro, dvd cd writer/reader and a bunch of other stuff on it.

o yea i had another question also. If I upgrade my mob will i still have Windows XP Pro on it. I'm pretty sure I will and sorry for the noob question. I'm just making sure.
S Bomb is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

To much money wasted and to much of a mess I would just get a new comp.
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

You won't be able to use the dell supplied windows xp disc to install on your new mobo, Dell disc check the motheboard during install to make sre it's a dell. You could always get a pirated copy of windows though.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Keep the Dell PC so simple stuff, like web surfing, email, etc...

Save and build yourself a OCin' machine....

That's you're only hope...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 09:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Changing out the mobo (especailly if it uses a different chipset) can make your Windows OS corrupt (it changes kernel data if you switch chipset info). So, either buy XP again and get a enw mobo, or keep your PC.

I'd say keep the Dell, you got a good deal. And save for an overclocking machine if you wish.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.