Good Temp. Monitoring Program? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2006, 04:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default Good Temp. Monitoring Program?

Hey I just set up my new computer and I've got a Temp/Fan Monitor coming in the mail.

I'm just wonding what's a good program for temperature (mostly i'd just use it for cpu and case) monitoring so that i can monitor my cpu and stuff before it gets here.

I'll also want to use the program as a guide to make sure i set up the add-on card right as it's only $20 w/ shipping.

thanks

BTW if it matters my sig has the computer i'd be using it with.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xpedient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Default

you can check the heat of your cpu by means of bios, find it there... i tried programs but they are inaccurate, but that goes only from my experience. video card temperature monitoring? the new nvidia drivers have their own temperature monitor... just go to nvidia control panel and then click temperature settings. i dunno about other video cards...
__________________

__________________
"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...
AND THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING ELSE."

xpedient is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

I use RivaTuner for my GPU temp monitoring... it charts the temp real time along a graph. very cool.
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xpedient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xpedient
Default

good for you.... ^^
__________________
"Here's a thing about the future; When you look at it, it changes, it's because you look at it...
AND THAT CHANGES EVERYTHING ELSE."

xpedient is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 09:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

but if i use bios to look at temps then i can't get a temp for full load, only idle temps.

i need to know my full load temps.

thanks anyways though.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 09:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

You could try MBM5 It's about the most accurate 1 out there,The only problem is it might not work with your board yet.
Shumway is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 10:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You can use Easytunes since you have the Gigabyte mobo.

A couple others you can use are Core Temp and Intel Thermal Analysis Tool (TAT). One thing to note with these programs, they read the temps from a Digital Thermal Sensor.

You will notice that temps read ~ 10-15c higher in Core Temp/TAT than they do in Easytunes.


Core Temp

TAT
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 10:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

MBM 5 seems to work perfectly with most Gigabyte cards, so definitely try it out. My CPU is at 35¬ļ right now.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 10:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

MBM 5 doesn't support my mobo...

and thanks idiotec

EDIT:

i just used a dual prime 95 and core temp was giving me temps around 63C. It was also giving me and idle temp of around 56C (BIOS says 41C)

so i don't really know how much i trust the 63C but @ 2.6Ghz w/ 3.25 vcore i doubt that's right but at least it gives me an idea of what it should be instead of me not having a clue.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jordo_99
MBM 5 doesn't support my mobo...

and thanks idiotec

EDIT:

i just used a dual prime 95 and core temp was giving me temps around 63C. It was also giving me and idle temp of around 56C (BIOS says 41C)

so i don't really know how much i trust the 63C but @ 2.6Ghz w/ 3.25 vcore i doubt that's right but at least it gives me an idea of what it should be instead of me not having a clue.
Those are great temps for 3.25 vcore!

Yeah, that program definitely seems to run high, but it does at least give you a benchmark. 63C dual prime load with Core Temp is definitely a decent temp.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.